We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Waiter. Boring Food. Waited Forever.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of KB Tambo - CLOSED

KB Tambo
Junction of Ferroccarril Av & Ventidero St, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Peruvian
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rude Waiter. Boring Food. Waited Forever.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The waiter we had acted like a 4 year old every time we made a request. He huffed and puffed and looked like we were severely interrupting him. Plus the food was boring and we waited around an HOUR for NOODLES.

Many places here in Peru use MSG (known here as Aji-no-moto). I asked our waiter about the ingredients of my dish to make sure there was none. I have a VERY strong allergic reaction to it. He acted annoyed and was Incredibly rude and unprofessional.

I ordered noodles with vegetables and was given a giant mountain of noodles with around 1/4 cup of vegetables. I requested more vegetables on the side so I could mix them in and again, received a huff and puff from the waiter (plus an extra charge of course).

To top it off, when we left, the waiter kept our change for himself didn't give us the remaining difference.

Avoid this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I traveled with my family nearly 2 years ago. We had breakfast here twice after a recommendation in the internet cafe. The egg omelets were fantastic, and the fresh fruit juice was great! But, the waffles were out of this world. They had some apple/fruit waffles which will rock your socks.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
1,725 helpful votes 1,725 helpful votes
“Fresh Made Pasta in a Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The restaurant at KB Tambo actually has a different name, but this is the one you'll see on the outside. KB Tambo is a hostel, but the restaurant is actually pretty nice. It's small - only a few tables - but cozy with candlelight on the tables, and warm! What drew us in was the advertisement of fresh made pasta, which is what we ordered.

We both ordered the fresh fettucini, and it really did taste fresh, and was quite light and nice. The sauces were also pretty light and nice. The Alpaca bolognese was tasty. The service was fine, but this seemed like one of those gringo clique places to hangout, which usually isn't our scene, but we still had a very nice meal. After we left, we asked for a taxi, and the guy ran all the way up the hill to the square to get one for us - really nice of him!

The restaurant is on the main drag down from the square.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Inattentive service, mediocre overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We watched a family wait 15 minutes to be asked if they wanted anything to drink before getting up and leaving. We should have followed them.

The food was all carbs, no flavor or nutrition.

Every simple request we made to the waiter was attended to with an exasperated sigh.

We paid way too much for far too little.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KB Tambo also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KB Tambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.