We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunupa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tunupa Lodge to your Saves list
Tunupa Lodge
Av. Ferrocarril N 50, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our tour stopped off for lunch at the Tunupa Lodge Restaurant.

I sampled the fried mackeral, trout, alpaca, quinoa and multiple salads for vegetarians and non vegetarians. Everything was well seasoned and well stocked.

The desserts were just terrific.

The busboys were very slow to get me simple Coca tea, but the Maitre D pitched in to save the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very close to the train station which leaves for MP. We walked the 4 minutes with a LOT of luggage with no problem. Also, just 4 minutes to the plaza in the center of town. The front desk doesn't speak much English, and even though we only speak a few words of Spanish, everything went smoothly. The room, with a superb view of the snow capped Andes, was basic but clean, comfortable, quiet and big enough for our luggage. The lodging is fairly new, so no problems with the bathroom facilites etc. Breakfast was basic, but satisfied us. Just don't expect too much for the reasonable price and you will leave satisfied. We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Second floor, facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here with 10 of my university students on our way back to Cusco from Machu Picchu. The hotel has a very helpful set of owners who are responsive, kind, honest and eager to please. The rooms are big and comfortable with reliable hot water. The hotel is close to the train station, which is convenient for those who are returning exhausted from hikes and/or trips to Machu Picchu. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Tunupa Lodge. We really loved our stay here. Very friendly, warm staff. The lodge was clean and quiet. Our beds had big heavy blankets on them and even a space heater in the room, which we really appreciated! :) The view of the mountains from our window was spectacular! We had a lovely breakfast both mornings. The lodge is located a few minutes walk up from the train station. It is about a 10 min walk up to the main plaza and 15 mins to the ruins. Before we arrived to Peru, the lodge arranged a taxi pick up for us from the airport in Cusco. We loved the Tunupa Lodge and would highly recommend a stay here for anyone visiting Ollantaytambo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Tunupa Lodge on our only day in Ollantaytambo. The lodge is in a great location, being only a few minutes walk from the city center with restaurants and the train station to get to Machu Picchu. The rooms were large and the beds were excellent; comfortable with great blankets that kept us nice and warm during the night. There was also a portable heater for our use in the room, which was greatly appreciated. The view outside of our window could not be beat! I would really encourage others to stay here and the management was very helpful with storing our luggage overnight while we ventured up to Aguas Calientes and Machu Picchu. The shower was also consistently warm, a welcomed change!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here for three years worth of Perú trips .... Love it! Wonderful family owned and operated clean hotel with a spectacular view and convenient location to town and the train station. They have breakfast available and generally have hot showers too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a pleasant surprise when we turned up here.Although the electric had gone off they made back up plans ans wre very helpful.
The rooms were spotless and very freshly decorated with great views.
It is in a fantastic location for the railway station a few minutes walk away,as is the town in the opposite direction.
Breakfast was served early for us and was superb.
The people here clearly try hard to get things right and provide quality accomodation.
One of the best we stayed in throughout s America given the areas we were in.
Stringly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunupa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunupa Lodge

Address: Av. Ferrocarril N 50, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tunupa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunupa Lodge Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunupa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.