We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inka Paradise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inka Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Inka Paradise Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mascabamba s/n, Ollantaytambo Cusc 01, Peru (Formerly Hotel Inkas Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I cannot compare to others hotel's in the area, by Western Standards the hotel would be considered well below average, but If your going to hike the Inca Trail, its a place to sleep.

Beds weren't the most comfortable, although they were warm.

Not sure if it was intentional, but water was/got shut off at some point overnight, Around 5:30 am we noticed this,when were attempting to get ready for our hike, it did come on a little bit after that, Water was either scalding hot, or frigidly cold, no median.
Wasn't the cleanest place. Observed many small insects in the room, the doors opened to a central outer foyer, and we assumed that the seal wasn't the best. There was also quite a bit of mold throughout the bathroom. If your going to hike the trail, I imagine that mold and small insects the night before you start aren't the biggest deal.

Basic breakfast was included, toast, butter, jam, coffee, tea and the option for some prepared eggs,

Decent location, a couple blocks from central square, and a little further to the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
8
27
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated and there was a very nice clean bathroom and room with new mattresses and very warm covers. It was a very pleasant enjoyable stay. We stayed here as part of our G adventures tour. It also has a very good location which is close to the main square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very basic hotel in Ollantaytambo. The comforter and thin carpet have seen better days, but the bathroom was clean and there was hot water for a shower in the morning. The bed was decent. Breakfast was included - coffee, tea, bread with jam and a small plate of good scrambled eggs. Less than a 5-minute walk to the plaza.

Room Tip: Check the shower as soon as you get your room to see if you can get hot water - not everyone in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As with Hotel Prisma, I don't think this place would exist if G Adventures didn't use it for Machu Picchu tour groups. Internet didn't work, no hot water in the morning for a shower, some odd smells, and the room backed on to the chicken coop, which meant an early morning wake up call from the rooster. That and the room upstairs had a running toilet all night which could be heard in our room. It's close to the town centre which is about its only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Just your basic hotel. We did not have a tv or hot water. There was also a rooster that woke us up at 3:45 AM! The breakfast consisted of toast and tea. The wifi worked well though. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty basic place. The room we had was very large with 2 double beds and a huge bathroom. However the cleanliness of the quilts was dubious and the ceiling was literally covered in damp stains which I found a bit grim. Light shade on bedside table had one bit cracked off it and really wonky / broken - but I guess that's a basic hotel for you

Breakfast was small but fine - juice, bread , jam and eggs if you wanted them .

Staff were friendly and gardens were pretty

I would have said this was one of the quietest places we stayed if it hasn't have been for the confused cockerel whp was crowing for most of the night!!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of the tour just before heading to the Inca Trail. The hotel is very basic, but clean and comfortable. The water pressure and temperature was good, but the Wifi was not working. It is in a good location with restaraunts and such near by. Watch out for the canals when walking around at night. The only issue to be had was the rooster that began crowing at around 3:30 in the morning and every 15 to 20 minutes after. It was so loud that I actually got out of bed once to check if it was in our bathroom...

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room that is not next to the rooster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inka Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inka Paradise Hotel

Address: Mascabamba s/n, Ollantaytambo Cusc 01, Peru (Formerly Hotel Inkas Garden)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inka Paradise Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inka Paradise hotel is 5 minutes from the Plaza, 10 minutes from the archaeological complex of Ollantaytambo and 15 minutes from the train station, has a beautiful garden, a terrace where you can have the best views of the inca ruins and the mountains that surround this town.All rooms have private bathrooms and hot water 24 hours.The staff can provide the best service and is prepared to help in any way that the guests need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Inka Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inka Paradise Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inka Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.