We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A wonderful experience."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Wow!!!

Save Saved
You added Casa de Wow!!! to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Wow!!!
patacalle | s/n, Ollantaytambo 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Malibu, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"A wonderful experience."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Casa de Wow was one of my very first hostels in Peru, and I have to say, it spoiled me for the rest of my trip. Winn, the owner, is wonderful and helpful and makes you feel right at home, just like you would hope for in a hostel. After a long, long day of Machu Picchu and very little sleep, the wonderful beds that remind a person of sleeping in a tree house, are so welcome. Winn helped me find the perfect activities, great restaurants, and a wonderful stay in this beautiful little town. The location is amazing in the ancient town with an incredible view of the Incan ruins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    22
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
59
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa de Wow after arriving from Agra Calientes/hiking Macho Pichu so we were pretty tired and appreciated the comfy bed. It was clean and there was a hot shower. We were greeted by a friendly staff member who helped us figure out where to eat (it was late so many places were closed). We were able to help ourselves to water and tea any time. We found it quiet.
Breakfast the next day was good with bread, jam and eggs and we got to meet other guests at breakfast and in the home living room.
Winn was really helpful. We would have stayed a second night if there was space but she helped us call for a place to stay.
We joined a tour that other guests were going on and got to see some off the beaten track places we wouldn't have seen otherwise.
Not much was negative, but if you had mobility issues the stairs could be hard to navigate. I rated value average but I think it is a pretty reasonable price if you don't book through hostelbooking.com. Overall one of the highlights if my stay in Peru!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Comfortable beds, great breakfast, hot showers and very helpful hosts. This hostel represents the best of why you should stay at a hostel. Win provided a ton of information about Ollantaytambo and the surrounding area. She was able to suggest several side trips which added immensely to our experiencing all the Sacred Valley has to offer. In addition she is very helpful in pointing out where to buy Quechas made items that foster fair trade practices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ideally located in the old typical village of Ollantaytambo, Casa de Wow was a real find in our journey through Peru. Lovely rooms, great breakfast, hot showers and a wonderful host, Winn, whose kindness and helpfulness went a long way towards making our stay here our favorite stop. I would especially recommend this place to long-term travelers who enjoy taking their time to discover a region. The area is absolutely filled with fascinating sites and Ollantaytambo is the perfect base for visiting them all. Also, on the off day when you just want or need to relax, the Casa has the most welcoming and best appointed kitchen of all B&B/hostels we've stayed in, and then you can browse through a dvd collection worthy of your neighborhood's video store. Sometimes, you just need a home away from home, and Casa de Wow is precisely that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was by far the nicest place we stayed in our month in South America. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and uniquely decorated. The welcome we received was superb and the breakfast was delicious. We even made use of the kitchen facilities one evening to cook our own food to save some money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were glad that we chose to stay in Ollantaytambo instead of Urubamba, and chose Casa de Wow!!! We stayed here in May for three nights. Winn, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. She made you feel really home. She provided a well-drawn map of Ollantay clearly listing all the useful information you need and she made taxi arrangements for our trips in the Sacred Valley. We had a room with a matrimonial bed (queen size), which was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and ample!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent 3 nights there and they have been by far my most comfortable and enjoyable nights in Peru. Being my first time ever staying in a hostel, I was a little weary. But, this hostel was better than some hotels I have stayed at. Not only was is super clean and comfortable, but the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. She honestly makes you feel like you are a guest in her home and it was great to feel so comfortable. Thanks Winnie!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Wow!!!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Wow!!!

Address: patacalle | s/n, Ollantaytambo 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa de Wow!!! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Wow!!! Hotel Ollantaytambo
Casa De Wow!!! Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Wow!!!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.