We spent two nights there in October,one night before and one night after visiting Machu Picchu. Having to get up early, we planned to take a good rest the night before visiting Machu. But we had very bad sleep, because they accepted tents (campers) in their yard (probably bikers). These guys got up in the middle of the night, were very noisy for an hour or so. Adding to that, dogs were barking almost continuously. Our trip to Machu was spoiled being very tired the next day. We never thought to pay for a room and to have noisy campers in front.
This place is hard to find, not well located. We had to roll our luggage on a narrow street, paved with stones. The room is very small and very old, but was clean. We asked for another room but they said they're all the same. Almost no space for our luggages. Cannot get hot water from the sink, to shave.
Only good things were the common kitchen and the breakfast which was good and well elaborate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us in Trip Advisor. We are really sorry that you have not had a nice experience during your stay with us, as we try to achieve with all our guests.
First of all we want to apologize for the campers, they were not accepted by us, they were in the courtyard of the neighbor restaurant, which is not our business, and never k new nothing until the moment they arrived to spend just one night. We already talked about that situation with the restaurant owners about that to avoid further inconveniences our guests. Anyway, we are really sorry about that, even you where the only guests that complain, and you have had the furthest room from where the campers camp, but, of course, we understand that you can be light sleepers and we are really sorry that this situation have had influence in your visit to Machu Picchu. You could have told us and, of course, in that case you won’t have been charged, as we don’t need to charge our guests if they don’t agree with what they receive. Anyways, as said, campers were not our clients and it has been just a punctual situation.
About the room, as said in main part of our reviews, our standard rooms are kind of small but we do have our 2 superior rooms that are bigger. The date you spent the night with us both where full but, when you did your reservation they were available, but you decided to book a standard room, not a superior one, that are a little more expensive. That was your choice, but not all our rooms are the same, as you said.
We are glad that you like the breakfast and our commune area with open kitchen, and hope that the rest of your trip has been great. We are really sorry that we didn’t cover your expectations, fortunately this doesn’t happen often and main parts of our guests are happy with our installations and services.
We really appreciate your report, which helps us improve our services and avoid further similar inconveniences.
Lluc Acero Martínez
Hostal Iskay Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.