We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the climb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinkuylluna Mountain Granaries

Pinkuylluna Mountain Granaries
Lares Calle, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Try and take the walk up in the morning, as it can get windy in the afternoons (Ollantaytambo is at the junction of valleys and the wind can certain swirl around!). Take your time, take water and a camera. It looks very high and difficult, but actually is not so, and it is well worth the climb.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    37
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

these ruins are huge and they are free. easily accessible. chalenging at times. you challenge yourself and decide how high you want to climb and to where. good place to meditate or read or have a piknik. great views from the top. not too many tourists.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Short, fun hike, no charge, and you are rewarding with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

On the first day we got into Ollantaytambo, we were walking through the town with our three chikdren (14, 12 and 9) and decided to hike up the the Granaries. It's only about a fifteen minute hike, although given the high altitude and our lack of acclimitization we took our time and stopped several times to catch our breath. It's not a dangrous hike, although there are a few patches of loose rock and you need to watch where you step. We didn't have on hiking boots, just sneakers and keens. When you get to the Granaries you have an amazing view of both the town and the Incan ruins across the valley. Well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Whew! Really high, really cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

You take the trail out of town -- ask anybody where it starts -- and head up steeply to two Inca granary sites that are visible from anywhere in Ollantaytambo (your friends will be able to track your progress as they shop or eat at a sidewalk cafe in town).. It's not for those who don't deal well with heights, but greatly satisfying for those reluctant ones who are able to give themselves a push!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“This hike was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I can't believe I hadn't reviewed this site! Pinkuylluna was very close to our hotel Apu Lodge in Ollantaytambo so on our last morning there my stepdaughter and I decided to go hiking. She is an experienced hiker and I am not but I try to keep in good shape so off we went. First of all, there are no tour guides or gates or even a ticket booth here, you will just see the entrance with a wooden sign that says Pinkuylluna, and a notice that pretty much says "climb at your own risk", what could be more charming than that? The steps carved in stone are steep and tall, and you keep climbing them until you find a narrow lane, which will then turn into a very narrow ledge. Right about here I totally chickened out and stayed behind taking pictures of the AMAZING views, but my step daughter kept climbing and she made it all the way to the granaries, and took some wonderful photos. You can see all the way across to the ruins of Ollantaytambo, the green agricultural terraces, the town below. It was a great hike, you will not regret it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinkuylluna Mountain Granaries also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Pinkuylluna Mountain Granaries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinkuylluna Mountain Granaries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.