We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“puma marca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pumamarca Ruins

Pumamarca Ruins
Patacancha Valley, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Manta, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“puma marca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

was a great walk in the mountains and a perfect way to start climatizing to the altitude. The views are great

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A solid, uphill hike, and some amazing ruins at the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were on a two day camping trip in the Sacred Valley and made the hike up Pumamarca on the second day. It's 45 minutes of uphill walking, and you are largely on your own. We only saw two other tourists while we were there. We also had a guide, which made finding our way a lot easier as there are no signs at all, and at times it's a bit hard to know which way to go. The guide helped us to really understand what we were seeing, and had it not been for that I may have rated the experience one star less. From Pumamarca, we walked all the way back to Ollantaytambo (2.5 hours). This was a downhill walk for the most part, although without a guide we would not have been able to navigate the path properly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“5 - 6 hour round trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A lovely walk and interesting ruins. Takes you away from the crowds. Take a picnic and make a day of it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A good acclimatizing hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I did this hike on our second day at high altitude. I am in very good shape, but due to the altitude, I found this hike a bit challenging, especially as you scramble up the hill at the end. It was worth it, though, and the mountain trail we took on the way back was beautiful.
We saw local people only, no other tourists, and the man working there told us a bit about the ruins ( in Spanish).
Make sure your hostel/hotel staff draws you a map, and you can also ask the locals ( again, easier if you speak Spanish).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Far away, it´s a dayhike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The path isn´t signposted, so you have to ask a lot, which way (but it´s not that difficult to find). You can hike along the river on the right to the site and go back uphill on your left. Note that there are a lot of paths to take, but it´s impossible to get lost in the Lares valley.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumamarca Ruins also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Pumamarca Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumamarca Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.