We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in all of Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Albergue Restaurant

El Albergue Restaurant
Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 00000, Peru
+51 84 204014
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in all of Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We absolutely loved our dinner at El Albergue! We were staying at the hotel and knew to have dinner after reading all the amazing reviews. We were not disappointed! We started off enjoying 2x1 Pisco Sours in the cafe and then moved into the dining room for dinner. We started with the veggie pate, which was delicious. They even provided more bread after we quickly ate through the original amount. My wife ordered the traditional Peruvian stew, which she loved. I had the lamb tenderloin and quinoa risotto. The lamb was perfectly cooked medium rare and the risotto was flavorful. We were serenaded by an elderly gentleman playing the harp which was simply amazing. The ambiance was so special and really put an exclamation point on the end of our trip. Don't miss out on this special restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    88
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Musica bella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved Don Domingo, the blind man playing the harp..what a treat to have a meal under his spell..and the food was outstanding.Gracias a Escaped to latin America for fidning me this jewel..both the hotel El Albergue and restaurant..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb organic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate dinner twice at this restaurant and had lunch at their organic farm where food is cooked in the pachamanca earthen oven. All their food is grown in their adjacent gardens using organic techniques (rare in Peru!). They are also trying to teach other local farmers to grow organically. The staff are friendly, polite and most speak Spanish and English. We ate at a few other places in town and felt this was the best food around!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Meat lovers ..yumm yummm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The seating and ambiance was great. Slow service with only one waitress for about 10 tables. Drinks Pisco Sour great choice. Food fresh, rich and tasty flavors. Meat lovers must try the steak with purple mash potato's mouth watering good!!!. Best food of whole Peru trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've been through Ollantaytambo a few times, and I am so glad we found this wonderful gem. The setting is beautiful, the service was superb, and the food is the best I've had in Peru! We enjoyed their pastas made with ingredients from their garden, the steak (the best out of all the meals), and their burger. In addition, they have a good happy from 6-7 for Pisco Sours. A highlight was also the music. A man sang and played the harp- really beautiful. Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Albergue Restaurant also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to El Albergue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Albergue Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.