We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hosts and accommodations provided a warm welcome to Peru!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Samanapaq

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Samanapaq to your Saves list
Hostal Samanapaq
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Pallpancaro S/N | Ollantaytambo - Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The hosts and accommodations provided a warm welcome to Peru!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

The Samanapaq and Ollantaytambo were a wonderful place to begin our trip in Peru. The quality of the Samanapaq facilities, grounds and breakfast were all significantly better than we expected. We liked our two nights there so much that came back two days later after our visit to Machu Picchu. Above all other positives, the warmth of the hosts was what we sincerely appreciated the most.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    47
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
80
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

There are two things that I want to comment on - firstly the warmth and genuine welcome of the owners, secondly the hotel and grounds were wonderful.

We went for a walk up to the fortress one day, and the next to the grain silos on the hill opposite, and for this the owner escorted us through neighbours garden to ensure we were on the right path.

The only complaint I had was that at night the lighting was dull, and I mean dull not romantic. The heater did struggle to warm the room at night. But that apart everything was beyond reproach.

I should mention the breakfast with mountains of different home made cakes. The also have tea and coffee free on tap for you to make yourself during the day

Someone said "a hidden gem" and I would agree.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the quiet, bountiful breakfasts, internet, English language cable channels, satellite music and beautiful surroundings. We can be very picky but this place lacks nothing. I wish all hotels were like this, we would travel more often. Easily the best accomodations we had our entire 14 days in Peru/Chile. We could have stayed in the Sacred Valley a week and not seen everything. The next time we come we'll stay here and take our time. Writing about Hostal Samanapaq brings back all kinds of great memories. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

What a great time we had at this hostal with James and his family. The best place to stay, close to everything, peaceful and the breakfast was delicious and generous.
Ollantaytambo and the Samanapaq have so much to offer. THIS IS A MUST!
Thank you again James for your warm welcome and all your kindest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We arrived here after a wet afternoon in Aguas Calientas. The warm welcome, hotel and rooms far surpassed anything we could have expected. We were given a choice of three rooms, all of which looked marvellous. Our room was roomy, with very comfortable beds and an amazing bathroom- no bath but a shower with 6 jets- granted not all of them worked but the power of the shower was just what was needed. Manela and her daughter were so attentive and quickly lit the fire and set our wet gear out in the lounge to dry off.

Breakfast was great- a real variety of stuff we had not seen before in Peru. This was by far the best breakfast we had while in Peru. The only comment would be that we were the only guests and the spread for breakfast was just huge. I am sure the food won't go to waste but there was so much.

The grounds and pottery 'shed' was lovely- we hung out in hammocks for a while after breakfast then went off exploring the ruins nearby. I could not fault this hostel. Attention to detail is clearly a priority and making people feel welcome is something that appears to come naturally. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Hostal Samanapaq on 25-27 December, 2010. The hostal is located in a quiet area of Ollantaytambo and convenient (easy walking distance) to the train station, Inca ruins, restaurants, and shopping. James and Manela are the most gracious host and hostess and helpful in every way. Their breakfasts are plentiful and nutritious and tea, coffee, and internet is always available in the lobby. The gated and secure grounds include a gorgeous botanical garden and Manela's pottery shop. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip to Peru and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

If you're going to Ollantaytambo, you should stay here. Walking distance to the plaza, ruins, and market. It couldn't have been better. James and his family made sure everything went perfectly, including our plentiful sack lunch, dinner for seven in their dining room, getting our laundry done in a timely manner, arranging a driver to take us back to Cusco when our driver overslept, and a heater for our room.
Many thanks to this family for their wonderful attention to detail and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Samanapaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Samanapaq

Address: Pallpancaro S/N | Ollantaytambo - Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Samanapaq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Samanapaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Samanapaq Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hostal Samanapaq Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Samanapaq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.