We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlelight dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayupata

Mayupata
Jiron Convencion s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru
51-84-204-009
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 40 Restaurants in Ollantaytambo
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Houston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Candlelight dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our family enjoyed an evening pizza by candlelight in this cozy place near ruins. They have a wood burning oven.Food was good- even those who did not get pizza liked what they had.This was near our hotel- Hostal Sauce.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pratt, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This little restaurant was filling up, but they found a way to sea our group of six very comfortably. Food was good and presentation excellent. Very warm and friendly place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We are here every day because it's truly that amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My father and I went here after I read a woman's blog about her stay in Ollanta. We were totally blown away by the food, it was so incredible I would go back to Ollanta just to eat here. The first night we had their signature trout dish, Mayupata trout. It was our favorite dish we had. We are still talking about it 5 days later. We also had their yucca fritas, and I have had many yucca fritas in my day and I would definitely say they make the best at Mayupata. We also had their Andean nuggets- quinoa crusted trout- very delicious. And we had the trout in garlic sauce with golden potatoes- also very delicious. The waitress didn't seem to care for us much, but we didn't mind because the food was so good it could've been served to us by a dog and we still would've come back. The restaurant interior is like a lodge, it reminded us of our mountain cabin, with a beautiful fireplace.
I would highly recommend this place, even for the Mayupata trout alone :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This restaurant could have been anywhere in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

the Hotel Sol recommended this restaurant. The food and the atmosphere were unbelievable. The food and the presentation rivals any restaurant in any major city. We had the trout wrapped around sweet potatoes and the trout in garlic sauce. The trout was spectatcular and coupled with a Malbec, dinner was $43.00 Now that is a bargain. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Can't Vouch for the Food, but the Pizzas are Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had dinner at Mayupata while traveling with a group. Because our dinner was "included" in our trip price, our only meal option was pizza. There were pros and cons with our experience. Cons: The restaurant appeared overwhelmed while prepping, cooking and serving large quantities of pizzas. Pros: When you finally received your pizza, it was DELICIOUS.

A few things I noticed: #1 If you are part of a large group and would like pizzas, be prepared to wait...and wait... #2 When the pizzas finally started rolling out of the oven, it was only a couple at a time. That meant some people ate while others looked on hungrily. #3 While our group waited, several small families came in for dinner and opted for menu items rather than pizzas. That was a smart move as those groups received their food, ate and left before us. #4 Wood oven pizza is my favorite type of pizza and Mayupata's version was very good. I got mine with mushrooms and ham, a really good combination. #5 The next afternoon I had about an hour before my group headed to the train station. I decided to order a pizza and have it packaged to go. It ended up being a great idea because I managed to finish my pizza while I waited for the train to arrive. #6 One of the charming things I enjoyed about the restaurant is the fact that it has minimal electricity in the dining area. The tables simply have several lit candles illuminating your meal. I wouldn't describe it as "romantic" but it gave the restaurant a great atmosphere. #7 I give Mayupata five stars for a wonderful staff and delicious food. If I were judging them on service they would receive two stars. #8 As long as you aren't part of a large group you will have a much easier time receiving your food. In that case...order a pizza!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayupata also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Mayupata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayupata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.