We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mijuna Wasi at Hotel Pakaritampu

Mijuna Wasi at Hotel Pakaritampu
Av Ferrocarril s/n | Hotel Pakaritampu, Ollantaytambo, Peru
(+51 84) 204020-204104
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 38 Restaurants in Ollantaytambo
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here twice while staying at the hotel for two nights. After touring the Sacred Valley all day, we were happy to stay close to our room.

On our first night, we had a drink at the bar on the second floor, then ate dinner at the restaurant. They had a decent slection on the menu, everything from soups and salads, burgers and pizza to local specialties like trout, alpaca and cuy. I had the trout dinner with quinoa risotta which was excellent, and huge portions. Hubby had alpaca with pepper sauce, which was okay but the pepper sauce overwhelmed the alpaca flavour. Second night we had a chicken dish that was also good.

Prices were reasonable for huge portions of food, and it was convenient to add it to our room tab and pay by credit card at check-out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch in a beautiful oasis in Ollantaytambo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

One of our first meals in Peru was at the Pakaritampu Hotel in Ollantaytambo. Being nervous about eating and drinking in Peru went out the window when we walked into this beautiful courtyard and clean, excellent restaurant. We were given english menus, but our local guide helped us select local favorites such as the fried pork and vegetables. The fried pork is not deep-fat fried, but rather pan fried and so tasty! After a hot day of touring the ruins at Ollantaytambo, we found an hours spent in this restaurant was just what we needed before taking the train on into Aguas Caliente.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice setting but bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I made the mistake of ordering cuy at this restaurant. I'm not sure what good cuy is supposed to taste like, but this was fried, dry and tasteless. So were my side dishes of potato and corn,with which I'm a bit more familiar. Even though the service is pleasant and the hotel grounds attractive, give it a miss.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awful food, bad service & expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Pakaritampu hotel and because we were short on time decided to eat at its restaurant. That was a mistake: The food was bland, flavorless and cold by the time it reached our table, and the service was downright hostile toward us. The only thing going for this restaurant, other than its location, is its quinoa soup - that was good. I cannot recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't eat at this hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

The hotel is situated in a beautiful garden and it is very close to the railway station, where you catch the train to Macchu Piccu. Please do not eat in this restaurant - I sent my meal back and also the second one that I reordered - the food is extremely bad. Once the hotel replaces the chef with one who can cook and recognise when food is bad this place would be a little gem.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mijuna Wasi at Hotel Pakaritampu also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Mijuna Wasi at Hotel Pakaritampu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mijuna Wasi at Hotel Pakaritampu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.