We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxurious but clean and hot water with lovely owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of K'uychi Punku Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added K'uychi Punku Hostal to your Saves list
K'uychi Punku Hostal
Plaza Araccama K'uychiPunku # 6 | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not luxurious but clean and hot water with lovely owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I live in Peru 2 years now. I have been to this hotel twice. Yes, it can get noisy in this hotel. It has a inner court yard and the noise gets to the rooms. But at night, when it is time to sleep, it is quiet. No street noise at least from our room. I know some rooms, you feel like you are taking a shower with the room next door but it is the beauty of Peruvian architecture (or lack of). There are the occasional disrepectful tourist chatting loud who disturbe you.

The owner is lovely, they really try their best to accomodate you. They want to give you good service and will try, which is a plus in Peru.

You can negociate your price and they are very reasonable and honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I guess it depends on the room you get. We were really happy with the one we got - we could even see part of the ruins from the window. It was an old Inca house which made it feel even more special. The family were friendly & helpful & I enjoyed the breakfast (I am difficult with my food but loved the scrambled eggs they provided). The hotel was just opposite the market stalls & the ruins.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Toscana, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Prezzi bassi, sistemazioni confortevoli, una deliziosa famiglia ad accogliervi. E soprattutto la più incantevole receptionist che vi possa capitare di incontrare: Hermelinda, 12 anni, la mattina a scuola (dove è bravissima), pomeriggio e sera ad aiutare i genitori, risolvendo qualunque tipo di problema per gli ospiti. Colazione ottima: da non perdere il succo d'arancia appena fatto, mentre il capofamiglia va a comprare il pane caldo (anche se partite alle 5 del mattino per Machu Picchu). Se lo provate vi innamorate.

Outrageously low price for the most confortable accomodation. Who found bad rooms was definitely unlucky... You will feel really at home, surrounded by all the attentions and cuddles by the nice family who owns the hostel. And you will fall in love with the cute, little receptionist who welcomes you heartily, sweet Hermelinda (12 years old!!), who studies at school during the day and takes care of guests in the evening. Very good breakfast (fresh squeezed orange juice recommended). try it!

Room Tip: L'unico problema è che l'acqua calda va SEMPRE controllata prima di fare la doccia. Se ci so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Parts of this hotel, including the breakfast area, were actually built by the Inkans (as was the whole pueblo) and have rock walls and exposed beams. I had a room in the newer section of the hostal on the second floor with a view of the ruins and the sunset. The room was clean and, while not fancy, totally adequate for my needs. The family that runs this place are some of the kindest and most accommodating people I've ever met. Breakfast was good - nothing fancy but they made you eggs if you wanted them. I liked the location and it was a value for the price.

Room Tip: I met some people who stayed in the front rooms and said they were noisy in the morning. My room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I thought this place was OK. The owner was super friendly and helpful. The room was fine and clean, although the bathroom was a little smelly. The location, though, is great and I thought the price was reasonable too.

They serve breakfast with bread and eggs and various drinks, including juice and coca tea. It's certainly no hotel, but there aren't exactly any hotels in Ollantaytambo, so this place seemed as good as any.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were slightly disappointed with this place. It was not cheap, in comparison with other, better accommodation we had elsewhere in the sacred valley. Our room was fine but slightly grubby and very cold. the worst thing was that there never seemed to be anyone around, and when we went out we just had to leave our key lying on the front desk which didnt seem hugely secure. water ran out totally for several hours on the first evening. its fine and the location is good, but not amazing atmosphere and poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unfortunately a very loud school group was staying at this hostal with us, but the positive aspects of this hostel far outweighed that negative. The owners are very friendsly, with an excellent collection of incan artefacts. I chatted to their kids in my mediocre spanish, they were just adorable. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Thin walls made a little noisy, but we slept well after our Machu Picchu trip. The breakfast was delicious, a great start to the day. As there were 4 of us we decided to get a taxi back to Cusco, the owner walked with me to the main square to find one and negotiated the fare, we were very grateful. Excellent location, close to ruins, main square and train station.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K'uychi Punku Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K'uychi Punku Hostal

Address: Plaza Araccama K'uychiPunku # 6 | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ollantaytambo, Cusco's premier hostel, located in the center of the most important archeological area of Ollantaytambo. We’re just a few yards from the fortress ruins and craft market, blocks from the train and bus station. Our friendly atmosphere and great facilities have made us one of the best places to stay in the Sacred Valley, providing the perfect mix for bringing people together and giving them easy access to all that this great town has to offer!Check out our wide range of amenities and then come enjoy a comfortable and fun stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your K'uychi Punku Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
K'Uychi Punku Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K'uychi Punku Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.