We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in any city. Surprise in Ollantaytambo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panaka Grill

Panaka Grill
Main Plaza, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 38 Restaurants in Ollantaytambo
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent in any city. Surprise in Ollantaytambo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We couldn't believe this restaurant existed in Ollantaytambo. The food, atmosphere, quality of the cuisine and service were excellent. We came there twice for dinner over 5 nights. It is one of the two places we would recommend to eat fabulous dinner in Ollantaytambo. Thank you for being there Panaka Grill!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
1,725 helpful votes 1,725 helpful votes
“A Cut Above the Rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Panaka Grill certainly seems to be one of the higher end places in Ollantaytambo. The decor is beautiful and the setting is relaxing (unless one of their big groups are in). They have a set menu for 25 PEN, another for 35 PEN, and then you can order from the menu too. The Lomo Saltado was decent, though not as good as we've had in the cities, the Aji de Gallina was pretty thick and not great. The Quinoa soup was quite good, and we were full after eating it. They seem to have pretty decent desserts.

We enjoyed our meal at Panaka Grill, and can recommend to others to try this place. Pickings are slim in backpacker-hostel-land Ollantaytambo, but this is a cut above, in particular just for the classy, comfortable decor.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most sophisticated place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I have eaten here a few times and its always a treat. The decor and ambience here is just miles ahead of anywhere else in Ollantaytambo, with lots of interesting photos on the walls taken by Martin Chambi and local art. Even the tables are painted. All very tasteful. There is a balcony with a really excellent view of the plaza, a great place to people watch, especially during the many fiestas Ollantaytambo enjoys, and a couple of tables outside too right on the plaza. There are lots of sofas inside, most unusual here!

The grills are highly recommended, very tasty, and the tiradito I tried was really excellent too, the best ceviche for miles. The cuisine is partly Peruvian and partly International, with something for everyone, some interesting combinations of local ingredients and the service is very professional too. There is a much better range of desserts that is common in Peru. The kitchen is very clean, I have never heard of one of my guests get sick here, which I cant say for any other place in town. The coffee and hot chocolate is good too, and the wine list is really extensive.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A rare gem that matches its majestic surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Panaka Grill is a beautifully designed restaurant where you walk in and immediately feel relaxed as if you were in the comfort of your own home. Panaka Grill has a diverse menu with many local favourites as well as more familiar western options. The staff are kind, helpful, and eager to make your visit a memorable one. Be sure to sip some delicious coffee on one of the patios with a great view of the main square. There are even games to occupy younger travellers.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Right on the main square in the town. You go upstairs to find the restaurant.

We enjoyed our meal there and the service was excellent. We would have returned a second night, but they were expecting a big group, so discretion was the better point of valour, and we decided against it the second time

It is very much better than the "grind out the tourists" places that comprise the majority of restaurants here. So do try it

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panaka Grill also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Panaka Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panaka Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.