We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel for great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaska Wasi Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chaska Wasi Hostel to your Saves list
Chaska Wasi Hostel
Calle del Medio S/n | Sacred Valley of the Incas, Ollantaytambo 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hostel for great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Arrived around 19:00 and the front desk guy was realy nice, showed me the room, and gave great recommendation of restaurant.
Thr beds are comfortable, the room is warm and cozy, location is perfect.
Warm water are hard to achieve but available all the time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

place is clean and comfortable, rooms are nice but tiny, host is very nice and informative, In general if you're just looking for a place to spend the night in low budget this fits right for you, it's around 10$ pax with continental breakfast included

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

we booked a private room with private bathroom.it is an average hostel with clean bed and warm water, don't expect much for breakfast though. considering you are in a small town, I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights adjusting to altitude before heading to Cusco on the 10 soles Collectivo, Kathie is honest helpful and despite being overworked on her own at moment, spent time with guests and I really enjoyed my stay. it is obviously a popular place to stay in Ollantaytambo and can thoroughly recommend it. the beds are clean and breakfast is basic but the welcome is warm and hospitable, only 1 question why is Cafe Con leche (with milk so impossible to find in this area?)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Chaska Wasi sure has character, mostly from the owner, Kathy, who is super friendly and full of information, she just really likes to hang out with and talk to her guests! We had a double room with a private bath and it was a great value! Nice common area and a roof terrace, all right on the plaza in Ollantaytambo. My only complaint would be the mattresses and pillows...definitely could use an upgrade!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Decent hostel in the small town of Ollantaytambo.. You could tell that there was no real effort put into the place considering there is a flat screen in the main lobby but not a mirror in the dorm bathroom and bad decorations.. I found the beds to be extremely uncomfortable, but I was only there for one night and that is enough for me. An okay place if you are just staying one or two nights. Also no lockers for your things. BUT the owner is very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a basic hostel, but the prices are accordingly.

The owner is very friendly and engaged with the community, you can leave rice or sugar, she will take care that people who need it will get it.

When i had fever and headache, she accompanied me to a local doctor and translated everything.

Location is perfect, on the plaza de armas of Ollantaytambo.

Like i described, its basic, but the value for money is ok,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaska Wasi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaska Wasi Hostel

Address: Calle del Medio S/n | Sacred Valley of the Incas, Ollantaytambo 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal Chaska Wasi is located in village Ollantaytambo in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas, a perfect place to start your visit to Peru. The Valley is a prime cultural and adventure destination in South America ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chaska Wasi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaska Wasi Hostel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaska Wasi Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.