We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Comfortable!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KB Tambo Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added KB Tambo Hostal to your Saves list
KB Tambo Hostal
Calle Ventiderio s/n | Center of town, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quiet & Comfortable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was there in May of 2013 for the Inca Avalanche and had the luxury of staying in the KB Tambo Hotel after long days of Hiking & Biking with KB Tambo Tours. The Restaurant was amazing, my Room was VERY comfortable and quiet so that I could get a great nights sleep all 10 nights!!! The service was excellent and very peaceful and relaxing. The coffee & breakfast every morning was awesome, I brought some coffee and jam home with me :) The KB Tambo Tours were AWESOME!! This was totally the trip of my life. I would highly recommend this hotel and would be available for email or calls to give more details. Thank you KB for an Amazing Adventure!!!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    66
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
35
113
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arranged our entire trip in Peru (end Oct 2013) through a tour group, Magical Cuzco Tours, months before we departed. As we were interested in biking during our time in Cuzco, we were attracted to separately arrange a biking trip with KB Tambo as we were convinced that Abra Malaga will offer a thrilling ride.

At the time of my research, there aren't a lot of other tour operators going to Abra Malaga. KB Tambo was one of the few and they offered the most competitive pricing. To add on, there were many great Tripadvisor reviews about KB Tambo's Abra Malaga tour and we looked forward to our tour very much.

We stayed a night with KB Tambo following a trip to Machu Picchu. We had a late train out of Aguas Calientes (with a few semi drunk noisy tourists in the same cabin) and it was dark and exhausting by the time we arrived at Ollantaytambo. After walking 10 to 15mins down a poorly lit street from the train station, we were glad to reach KB Tambo.

A staff checked us in quickly and helped us with our luggage to our room. The superior room was tidy, basic but sufficient. We had hot showers, a limited but working WIFI and a soft warm bed. Breakfast the day after was nice (though the portions were small) but overall, it was really great value for the experience we had.

It was a pity that the weather wasn't good and we were discouraged to go on our biking tour after waiting awhile for the guide to arrive. We spent the rest of the morning back in our room, recuperating from our tiring hike at Machu Picchu and hiding from the chill of the rainy day.

When it was time to depart, the staff was very helpful with our luggage and our pre-arranged driver arrived promptly and got us back to Cuzco earlier than we expected.

Booking via email correspondence was fast and straight-forward; KB usually replied within a day or two and he offered us a place to store our luggage during our stay at Aguas Calientes. KB Tambo also had a nice rooftop view of the Ollantaytambo fortress. I hope to be back for the biking adventure one day!

Room Tip: The superior room on the ground level faces the garden and was quiet and bigger than we expected. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed twice at KB Tambo for 2 nights on each stay, the first time in August and the second time a month later with my father-in-law. Both stays were very comfortable, the views from the second floor rooms are fantastic, and breakfasts were really good. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

KB gave me a great adventure experience. The Hotel is extremely cool and the breakfasts are much more than you would expect for a free breakfast. The adventure part of it was even better, with great camp food and guides that are very chill and don't boss you around. I would recommend booking with KB for anyone who wants a great experience without feeling like you have a babysitter.

Room Tip: Don't count on getting your laundry done in Ollyantaytambo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in - great quality rooms, delicious breakfast, helpful staff who gave me recommendations for nice restaurants and dealing with altitude sickness, and the owner KB knows everything about the area and was really helpful and friendly. I had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This charming little Hostal is more boutique hotel than hostel so don't be fooled by the name, this is not a backpackers.

The rooms are decent sized with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The views are of the ruins and the beautiful little gardens. The breakfast is adequate and the staff very very helpful. Overall we were very very happy with our choice. It is also a great location, just off the main square, only a short walk to the ruins and the train station.

A perfect base for a trip to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: Garden view on the lower level are cheaper and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for two nights while we visited Machu Picchu. Like the rest of the town the hotel had great views of Incan ruins along the surrounding hillsides.
The room however left some things to be desired. And some things I guess one has to take with the territory as Ollanta is really in the middle of nowhere. However, the wifi was basically non existent, even when I went to the lobby to use it. We purchased bag lunches to go from across the street to bring to MP. In the morning we found ants crawling all over the food. Probably our fault as the place is in the middle of nowhere but a little surprising nonetheless.
The shower was crazy! Really hot at first, then frigid. Then 2 minutes waiting without water then do it again.
great town tho

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to KB Tambo Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KB Tambo Hostal

Address: Calle Ventiderio s/n | Center of town, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KB Tambo is a boutique hotel located in the center of Ollantaytambo. Bright, clean and fresh, KB Tambo is owned by travelers from Colorado/MN USA who know what travelers want! Steaming hot showers 24 hours a day (guaranteed), modern bathrooms, and all rooms with imported linens and top quality beds. Great onsite restaurant, rooftop deck with tiki bar and jacuzzi (closed rainy season)and friendly, local advice. Owners onsite every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your KB Tambo Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kb Tambo Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
KB Tambo Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KB Tambo Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.