We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dash of the Inca Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gate of the Sun (Intipuncu)

Gate of the Sun (Intipuncu)
Machu Picchu, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Gate of the Sun (Intipuncu) like an insider
Special Offer
$360*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cebu City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A dash of the Inca Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved stepping onto the Inca Trail after having hiked the Salkantay Trail to Machu Picchu. It's definitely worth the 2km uphill walk from the main entrance to Machu Picchu - you get a stunning panorama of the impressive cloud forests, mountains and valleys - and of course, of Machu Picchu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    106
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We reach the Sungate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Sungate is the final big ruins before you reach Macchu Pichu via The Inca Trail. It can get pretty frenzied as hundreds of Trekkers descend at a fast pace to find a spot to take pictures. But the amazing feeling is inspired by the fact that from there you can see the ruins of Macchu Pichu and you know its not long to go anymore - about another 45 mins walk

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I hiked to the Sun Gate from Machu Picchu. It can be a trecherous hike. Good shoes are a must! Backpack with snacks and water. Places to take photos all along the way. The hike is steep and uneven ground. No railing and steep cliffs. Walking sticks could be rather helpful. I noticed many hikers had them. Once to the gate, you over look Machu Picchu if there are no clouds. I suggest getting started early. Enjoy! One of my favorite parts of my trip to Peru.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A view of the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have read that it was hard to get to this point but when you get here it is so easy to look back at life and say i DID it.
The walk which i did at 52 years young was worth every second of the pain and hurt we all went throught.
The young and me the old saw one of the wonders of this world.
Im now 55 and going back with my new girlfriend.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Somewhat of a trek but rewarded with nice views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We walked fast and hard and were exhausted by the time we reached the gate. Most people seemed to take it easy and slow and still found it taxing physically. It's not easy but if you have the time make sure to do it.....when in Rome....Nice views over Aguas Calientes, MP, HP and the road the busses take up.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gate of the Sun (Intipuncu) also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Gate of the Sun (Intipuncu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gate of the Sun (Intipuncu), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.