We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take It From Me - I Have Hiked HP Many Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huayna Picchu (Wayna Picchu)

Huayna Picchu (Wayna Picchu)
Calle Plateros 314, Machu Picchu 051, Peru
984552219
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$325*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Ranked #2 of 21 Attractions in Machu Picchu
Type: Mountains, Lookouts, Outdoors
Attraction details
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Take It From Me - I Have Hiked HP Many Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A trip to MP is incomplete without a hike up to Huaynu Picchu. I prefer to go in the early morning when the fog is lifting from the valley. Oftentimes we have seen parrots and other wildlife early in the morning. As you can see by my photos, the hike is not for those who are afraid of heights or out of shape. By the way, there are also other hikes in the area. Look at my website regarding the special tours that I run to Peru and Machu Picchu.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    178
    37
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adventure & Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This added some adventure and spice to our visit of Machu Picchu. We went up on the group at 10am. We booked Huayna Picchu in advance with Uncover Latin America. You need to book this at least a month in advance. The trek was steep, not for the faint hearted! People do race up here so dont lose your cool. The views from the top with that special someone is something I will remember for a lifetime!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hike to the top of Huayna Picchu will be one of the greatest achievements of my outdoor adventures!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“A challenge conquered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the most physically challenging and rewarding thing I have done so far!

Of the 200 allowed to climb each day, I was number 138 and at 47 I was also the 3rd oldest (50 and 53 bested me)   * I would not recommend for the overweight or unfit.

A reasonable (medium high) fitness level is a must - Even people 1/2 my age were struggling. There are steep ascents / decents, sheer cliffs and it could be very dangerous if you don't give this environment the respect it deserves.   I'm 6 ft 3 and 95Kg - The Inka were a small race so there are passages where I literally had to get on my hands and knees-   There is a small cave that is especially challenging for someone of my size and above - it is a mere 200 meters from the top so get through it and you're done!    

I can't recommend this adventure highly enough. EXTREMELY rewarding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the Time and Energy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

An amazing climb and worth every drop of sweat!! The views at the top are unbelievable!! My husband and I and our three children(teens) hiked up the mountain. It was an adventure and not easy but worth it. The view at the top looking down on Machu Picchu is not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huayna Picchu (Wayna Picchu) also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Huayna Picchu (Wayna Picchu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huayna Picchu (Wayna Picchu), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.