We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge - Well worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Pasadena, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge - Well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

It was no question for me to stay at the MP Sanctuary Lodge as going to MP was a trip of a life-time for me. We arrived in the afternoon via the Inca Trail and it was such a pleasure being greeted in luxurious style after an arduous hike.

We had booked our rooms in August, 2008 and several weeks prior to our arrival discovered that a lower promotional rate was being offered during our stay. Reservations quickly adjusted our rate to the lower promo rate with no problems. Our rate included all meals & beverages, a 1/2 hour massage and an aromatherapy foot bath in our rooms.

This is a luxury hotel and all linens and bathroom amenities reflect it. Each room does have its own hair dryer and fantastic shampoo, lotion, etc are included. I had requested room service at 5am to prepare myself to get out to MP's entrance by 5:30am. It arrived quite plentiful and good quality. It was wonderful being able to go out to MP for the dawn, then return for another breakfast at 9am then to check out. There is no problems with luggage storage while you enjoy MP during the day.

The meals, dinner, breakfast and lunch were wonderful and you have a great menu to chose from. Plenty of beverages were available as well.

I did take advantage of the day room and the shower provided. I only wished that all of those wonderful bath items - shampoo, etc was fully available. There is a hair dryer in there though. Plenty of water to drink is available for you here. There are some lovely lawn chairs to sit in the garden, but not enough to accommodate all the guests desiring to lounge around there.

The main negatives for us were first the early check out and secondly, the front desk was quite put out that we did not have our white paper from Peru immigration with our passport. Something about taxes that we would have had to pay. After much hassle, they agreed not to charge us the tax with the assumption that we would fax them a copy of this paper. No one tells you to carry and keep this paper until you leave Peru, so be aware.

There is no doubt that staying at the MP Sanctuary Lodge is a luxury and makes visiting MP easier as you can avoid the buses from Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    283
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
626
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We decided for the Sanctuary Lodge because of convenience even it seemed pricey. We were positively surprised - the rooms are small but well appointed and feature all amenities you might wish for; the food and service was outstanding and made us feel special. Aside from the top location and convenience that you can tour the site, return for breakfast and lunch and tour some more - the staff went beyond their duty, arranged for extra massages, confirmed our hotel in Cusco and helped us with changing our train tickets back to Cusco - no easy feast as the Peru Rail is very burocratic. We would stay there again, not just for the convenience but also for the great staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Visited here in April as part of a package through Peru Experiences (travel arm for Orient Express properties) - they did an excellent job. Guides, etc. were all fabulous at every stop (Lima, Cusco & Machu Picchu). You can find them on the hotel websites.
We decided to splurge and take the Hiram Bingham train and stay at The Sanctuary.
The train was a relaxing way to get to/from Machu Picchu without crowds (you depart/arrive at different times than most of the backpacker trains). Very good food too!
The service at Sanctuary Lodge was excellent. Every staff member went above and beyond to make sure whatever you wanted was delivered.
If you've read about the lodge, you know it's been re-made from an old lodge for workers at the Machu Picchu site. So, don't go expecting a 5 star hotel look. The room was more basic "motel" style & kind of tight quarters, but very comfortable. We got a room with mountain view and even though we weren't there very long to enjoy it, it really was a great view. Meals were very good. Massage...so/so. It was nice to be able to avoid the bus ride back/forth and just walk into Machu Picchu. Definitely not accommodations that you'd get in a major city for $1,000+ per night...but for a once-in-a-lifetime visit to Machu Picchu, we just felt it was a great opportunity to stay so close.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

My husband and I spent a glorious 3 days here at the end of a wonderful holiday in Peru to celebrate our 40th anniversary and my 60th birthday. We really couldn't fault the Lodge; everything was perfect. The staff were great and so helpful - we really felt like honoured guests. Of course it was expensive, but it was exclusive and we felt it was worth every penny. We had the room with the view which is featured on the website - it really is that spectacular. We were lucky with the weather as well, it was beautiful. Shame we had packed so much cool weather gear, I could have done more shopping! Thank you for helping me to realise my lifetime dream and spend time in this magical place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

The hotel is all about location. We hiked in on the inca trail and it was wonderful not to have to take a bus to get to our hotel. After we checked in I was able to get into the site around 4:15. Technically the gates close at 4 but the guy let us in with our tickets and room key from the hotel. We were not allowed to stay later than others but it was nice to get in late in the day. We had a standard room which was very small-read two people bump into each other getting around but it was all we needed. Don't bother paying up for the room with a patio since the patio area is public you can relax there on louge chairs or at tables if you have the time. I would not bother with the mountain view room either since it is dark when you are in the room. The bathroom had everything you want. Great water pressure, robes and slippers. The food and the service is excellent. We loved everything we ordered and it was fun getting a bill for zero soles at the end of each meal. We came back to the hotel after our morning tour of the site for breakfast which would not have been possible if we stayed in Aguas. After more touring we used the day room to shower before having a wonderful lunch in the restaurant. So nice to be able to go back to relax before doing more touring. Sure the hotel rooms in Aguas are nicer but they don't offer the flexibility of the Lodge and the food can't possibily be better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

My parents and I stayed at this hotel based on the location alone. Some of the reviews were mixed as to its real value, so we were a little apprehensive in what conditions we were going to find it in. Boy were we surprised. This is a top-notch, five + star hotel with unbelievable service, incredible food, wonderful rooms with amazingly comfortable beds and of course...nothing beats the location. The $1,200 we paid was well worth it and then some.
The dinner alone we had at the restaurant would easily have cost us $300 anywhere else (all food and beverages are included in the hotel price).
Every member of the hotel staff went above and beyond to help us. When my father suffered from a terrible, non-stop nose-bleed one morning at 5am Otay at the reception desk was the one who recommended we use vinegar to get it to stop, and then called the room 10 minutes later to see if it worked (it did).
And of course, the convenience can't be beat. We woke up one morning at 5am to watch the sunrise at Machu Picchu, then came back to the hotel around 8am for breakfast, and then went back out again for the rest of the afternoon.
If you can afford it, this is the best and only way to see these incredible ruins. I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Wonderful service, a well organised wedding, and in a wonderful setting - we really could not have asked for more.

The Hotel made all the arrangements, a shamen, translator, food, drinks, flowers, music, and we were lucky enough that after 5 days of rain, the clouds parted, and we enjoyed a fantastic afternoon of blue sky.

You pray that your wedding day goes to plan, and stress right up to the last minute that things will and always go wrong, but the staff bent over backwards to look after us and our guests, allowing us to relax, and thoroughly enjoy the day.

It is customary to remember your wedding day of course, and the hotel and staff ensured we will never forget the wonderful time we had there, and we will be certain to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.