We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“It's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Sanctuary Lodge in located close the the main entrance to Machu Picchu. The view of the mountains is wonderful even if there is no view of Machu Picchu from the Lodge. We bought Machu Picchu tickets for two days and staying at the Lodge gave us the opportunity to see and hike as much of Machu Picchu at we wanted without the hassle of taking the busses up and down and dealing with luggage storage. The food at the hotel's Tampu Restaurant is simply delicious. The mattress in our room was a little hard, but not enough to disturb our sleep. The hotel's grounds are small but lovely with an orchid garden and nice hot tub in back. They have two nice massage rooms, but we didn't use these services. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    282
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
626
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel could have been a lot better. The front of house staff were not at all helpful - you felt you were visiting a place of interest and not in a hotel reception. The room was small but adequate and the serving staff were very helpful. It is great to be able to just walk into Machu Picchu whenever you wish. The garden with its humming birds was lovely but unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of the orchid walk. The journey down the mountain to the village was a little worrying but the views of the mountains and the stunning ruins was worth the trip. This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We loved our trip to Machu Picchu. After spending the day walking around the temple (and a long morning/day getting there), it was nice to retire to the Sanctuary Lodge to relax when we were done. Our room was clean and quiet with a little patio looking over the courtyard. I don't think it is a 5 star hotel, but I did not expect that level of grandeur when staying at the top of the mountain. It is all about location with the Sanctuary Lodge - easy to get into the park and come back and take a break when you want. Afternoon tea, evening cocktails, and dinner were nice. There is not A/C. It was cool when we were there, so not a problem, but fans are available - you have to ask for them. It is quite expensive for what it is, but given we will only likely go to Machu Picchu once, we thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machu Picchu, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have loved our stay here . So glad we stayed at Sanctuary Lodge, very convenient next to the park. The Staff at the lodge gave us superb service. A special thanks to Jose Antonio who looked after us at every meal in the dining room and gave us excellent service. Also very good was Trainee Alexander at the reception desk, he will go far if he continues with his attentive care. Sanctuary Lodge should be very proud of their staff. They are their greatest asset

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park as the buses arrive before 0600 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Has been almost 14 years since the firdt time i was at the sanctuary lodge byt the first time and i've been the same and more surprised than that time, long ago.
They gave us some upgrade to rooms with patio, thanks to the head Recepcionist manager Omar Alvarez, very nice person talking all the time with us.
At the patio we could enjoy some bloody marys the day after, and for this the stuff at the bar was very nice, they made us the best bloodys i ever try on my life.
The restaurant manager Arturo Pino and his crew made our trip, gave us the best tables for lunch and dinner, we had David as a waiter, what professional is this guy.
So Thank you very much for all the details you guys work on, you don't realize how much all those simple details made a trip so incredible.

Room Tip: Last room on the patio has the best view of the huayna Picchu mountain..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Visiting Machu Picchu in itself is obviously an amazing experience, but our visit was totally capped off by our stay at the Sanctuary Lodge. Our room was great; the food and drinks were great, and the service was extremely good. And to be able to walk out of the hotel and be at the entrance to this amazing place, either late afternoon or 1st thing in the morning, is very special. The gardens, hot tub and hummingbird area are also beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a quality establishment. From the moment we arrived we felt special and very welcome. Everything was done exceptionally well and with care, right down to the chocolate with turndown service. Loved it. If ever you visit Machu Picchu, spend the extra money, even if only for one night like we did. It is well worth it and you get to enjoy Machu Picchu on your doorstep. Magical!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.