We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up in the clouds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waking up in the clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

At the foot of the top of Peru, this calming atmosphere is underrated. The orchid walk, the outdoor hot tub with a view of the ruins is humbling. A once in a lifetime experience. Privacy and location make this a stay for anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    282
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
626
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Susanville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were so excited to be staying so close to Machu Picchu, but it wasn't worth it and the photos were misleading. The reveiws we read before we went wer TRUE! The rooms are very average, even with the garden deck, the views were not as photos suggested. The service was quite a let down even though connected with Hotel Monasterio in Cuzco - a world apart! Buses were pumping out fumes and beeping all day long, Staff were distracted and the setting was crowded. As we had heard, not worth the price: Being at the monument early and late did not really matter. .Aguascalentes is close enough and an interesting town. Next time we will stay in a hotel overlooking the river in Aguascalentes and just spend more days at Machu.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - get a room overlooking the river in town..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services. The commitment of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay are very important to us.

I sincerely regret to know that we have not met your expectations and reiterate our commitment to excellence in service. We are constantly working in improving our Lodge facilities. We already started a refurbishing of our public areas and rooms with new materials, furniture, with a contemporaneous decoration in order to upgrade the lodge facilities and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

We count with a sample room totally restyled with a more contemporaneous decoration which counts with bright brand new fabrics, furniture and marbles. In the meantime, we believe our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and are priced accordingly reminding that our rates are All-Inclusive.

I deeply value your comments and renew our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain the facilities of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge and our renowned service quality at their best with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Take the word "lodge" seriously. This is not a 5 star hotel. The pictures on the website are not what you get. The rooms are small as is the property. There is barely any view of MP, however, you do get a wonderful view of the Andes from the terrace. The hotel is all inclusive and the staff is very polite and helpful. If I could do it over again, I would stay elsewhere and take the train up each day. There are 2 massage rooms, not a spa. The day room you stay in if you have a late train down is pitiful and the people look miserable inside. There is no pool, just a very old but well maintained jacuzzi. Again, the staff and service are great and more what you would expect from an Orient Express property.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services. The commitment of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay are very important to us.

I sincerely regret to know that we have not met your expectations and reiterate our commitment to excellence in service. We are constantly working in improving our Lodge facilities. We already started a refurbishing of our public areas and rooms with new materials, furniture, with a contemporaneous decoration in order to upgrade the lodge facilities and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

We count with a sample room totally restyled with a more contemporaneous decoration which counts with bright brand new fabrics, furniture and marbles. In the meantime, we believe our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and are priced accordingly reminding that our rates are All-Inclusive.

I deeply value your comments and renew our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain the facilities of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge and our renowned service quality at their best with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here one night as part of Odysseys tour of Peru and Machu Piccu. So, we did not pay the $1153 rack rate but we had a great time. Room #21 is closest to the front gate of MP, you can
watch the line and go over in 1min when it is short.
As part of the tour deal, we had unlimited food & drink including alcohol, boy did I get the Incas revenge the next day. Service is absolutely top rate. You can run right over to MP early, late, as much as you want. Maybe not worth the 1500 other posters have whined about, but this is a once in a lifetime experience you will never forget!! Great place!

Room Tip: Room 21 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. It was a pleasure. The food is top notch, We stayed and ate shortly after Christmas.Was shocked that we had broadband wifi in the hotel given the location and how deep in the jungle it is. Rooms are average size most will a screen door to a little personal patio type area. I would stay here again if I was going to explore Machu Picchu again, no doubt.

Room Tip: None to give. Enjoy Machu Picchu. Truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is the only hotel at the entrance to Machu Picchu. All other hotels are a bus ride away in the town in the valley.This gives you the advantage of seeing the sights with few tourists in the late afternoon and early morning and having a more relaxing experience at Machu Picchu.The cost is the expense of the hotel. The hotel itself is good. Clean well and comfortable rooms. The restaurant is excellent with a good atmosphere. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Excellent hotel, in a wonderful location! The staff is very kind and helpful. We loved the hot tub with that exceptional view. We seemed to be the only ones to stay more than one night but did not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.