We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expected more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice but expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Even with its great location the idea that you check in at 12:00 and then the bus leaves daily at 5:00 your stranded in the middle of a packed entry filled with bags. I really think one night is more than anyone would ever want to stay here. Move on down the river and check into a hotel with space. While it's location is great, all the busies start arriving early and it's like being at the grey hound station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    283
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
626
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary Lodge on 9/19/13. The service in general was good. However, we had serious issues with food poisoning after we ate from the lunch buffet on 9/20/13. That issue ruined half of our trip. The most upsetting part of this unfortunate event was the dismissive tone in which we were treated when we complained about the issue.
We had tickets on the Hiram Bingham going back to Cusco at U$378 per person and were not able to enjoy at all the multiple course meal and were forced to cancel other activities due to our sickness. We chose to stay at the Lodge not only for the location but also because we felt safer from a food safety standpoint. We are very disappointed, we saved for a long time for this trip so this has been a sad experience. I would not recommend the Sanctuary Lodge.
Also, if you stayed at the Sanctuary around the same dates and had food poisoning let us know.
Thank you

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mrs .carla r,

In first instance, I feel deeply sorry for the inconvenient you and your husband experienced during your return trip from Machu Picchu.

I thank you for bringing up this matter to our attention.

As you mentioned, while you stayed in Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge you had the night of your stay dinner in our fine dining restaurant and the next day, lunch in our buffet restaurant.

For what concerns your dinner, the courses you have chosen have also been selected by several of our guests in house and none of them reported food illness at this stage.

Considering your lunch in our buffet restaurant, we received 464 customers that day and none of them reported food illness.

Also I invite you to consider that regarding food illness the incubation period may vary up to several days: “Some forms of food poisoning have an incubation period of up to several days so it can be hard to identify the source of contamination". Mentioned in the following web site as an example:

http://www.familydoctor.co.nz/index.asp?U=conditions&A=32743

This is the reason why at Machu Picchu sanctuary Lodge, we hold very high quality and safety standards. We are the only SQF 2000 (Safe quality Food) certified hotel in Machupicchu. We have been the first hotel to certify SQF in Peru among only three that reach this certification. Our last certification gave a 99% of accomplishment.
Our food operation is run under strict Haccp international standards and all our fruits and vegetables are sanitized before their use. Our water is 100% drinkable and permanently revised. Food and water goes very regularly in laboratory tests.

Information we receive by our doctor is that very often it happens that guests are getting sick during or post stay in our property from food they previously had on their way to Machu Picchu.

We also have strict procedures regarding guest sicknesses and as soon as the reception is getting aware of any guest being sick, immediate actions are taken in order to accommodate our guests in the best conditions, we usually offer a late check-out when possible or a comfortable space in our day room and always propose our guest to call a doctor. It seems, as per our records, that you did not inform our Reception Desk of this incident what would have allowed us to help you instantly and take action in order to assist you with this matter.

I reiterate that I feel extremely sorry that your afternoon and return from Machu Picchu has been spoiled by this incident.

Should I be of any additional help, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty ferry
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient inca citadel of machu pichu. It offers guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon,when most of the day visitors and buses have departed. It is a delightful orient express owned hideaway offering visitors to machu pichu the perfect place to relax and unwind. We had a room facing the mountains for which we paid more. It was well equipped with lovely bed,toiletries,good wifi and int tv etc. the only disappointment was the cramped shower toilet room which was very small and unsuitable for a larger person. Although you do pay a lot of money to stay here once ensconced everything is free including the contents of the mini bar! All dinner drinks were also free. There is no pool but lovely gardens with an outdoor jacuzzi with views over to the machu pichu ruins. Wonderful. The gardens are filled with tropical plants and exotic humming birds and butterflies. The food in the restraint was excellent eaten to the background of live music from a Peruvian pan pipe band. Service in the hotel was exceptionally attentive and friendly. There are better hotels in the world but none in such a dramatic and spectacular location. Is it worth the money ...yes. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Sanctuary Lodge is the hotel next to the entrance to Machu Picchu. You will truly thank yourself for booking into this hotel after a long HARD day of trekking around Machu Picchu. Believe me. It is worth every penny.

The food and service in the hotel are excellent considering where we are at i.e. miles away from a a decent city. The rooms are nothing to write home about but the grounds (what the hotel calls the hospitality area) is teeming with bird life. I saw at least 5 types of humming birds in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We checked in at about 5pm and despite a problem with an upgraded room ( which was Cox and Kings fault ) this hotel has got to be one of the best we have ever stayed in. Its not cheap but if you are visiting Machu Picchu this is a must as it avoids the bus trip first thing in the morning. We had a 24 hour booking and having arrived late we were invited to have morning drinks and Lunch even after our checking out time. The service and food is fantastic, luxury service at a luxury price. As a bonus the hotel has its own VIP lounge at the railway station ! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a mountain view and get up a dawn to see the sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we stepped off the train from Cusco to Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu, we were treated like VIP’s. Our bags were taken to a holding spot specific for Lodge guests, and then we were escorted to a private air conditioned lounge, where we were offered complimentary drinks. We needed to get up to Machu Picchu, so we had to purchase the bus tickets to take us to the Sanctuary Lodge. The entrance to the ruins is only steps from the front door of the Lodge, (no waiting in line for buses to take you up/down to the closest town of Aguas Calientes, where most of other people stay). We stayed three day, two nights. The 1st room we were given was very small, but very clean, and the view outside the small window was nonexistent. The rooms have complimentary slippers for its guests with the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge logo sewn on it, (I love mine) ; but if you want the shampoo and conditioner cute clay containers as souvenirs, you will have to pay for those. The next day, we were upgraded to a larger much nicer room, by the terrace, with stunning views of the mountains. Not sure if it was because we were staying two nights, (most people we saw there, were only staying one night), or if it was because I was extremely sick when we arrived from Cusco. (Drinking mate with peppermint tea and taking a few Cipro pills made me better by next day). The staff is very nice, the food was very good, (they fly in their steak from US because it’s tenderer), and of course you can eat and drink all you want since it is all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Before our trip to Peru, I had agonized about whether to stay at the Sanctuary Lodge, given the high price. Now that we are back, I am really glad we did. When you consider that for most people, visiting MP is a "once in a lifetime" experience, it's definitely worthwhile to stay at this property to maximize the experience (I have a trip report with photos here if you're interested: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g294311-i818-k6877883-An_independent_trip_to_Sacred_Valley_Machu_Picchu_Cusco-Peru.html).

We arrived on 7:45 train from Ollantaytambo, dropped off our bags, and immediately rushed to the park for our 10AM slot for climbing Huayna Picchu. By the time we completed this (around 1AM), our room was ready and we were able to refresh in our room. We headed back to the park around 3pm, when it was much cooler and the crowd had dwindled. So lovely.

The dinner was delicious, as well as the breakfast and lunch on the next day. The staff would do anything you asked. My husband wanted to do the hike to Intipunka the next day, but didn't have a ticket. The staff drove down to Aguas Caliente to get a ticket for him at no extra charge. I had an amazing massage (the Inka) while he went hiking. They moved our luggage down to the train station and had a nice little private waiting room for us.

Sure, the room was nothing remarkable, but still extremely comfortable. If you can afford it, I would definitely stay here. It's worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.