We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal way to visit Machu Picchu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
East Hampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ideal way to visit Machu Picchu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This "no frills" lodge is the perfect accommodation for visiting the fabled ruins. The rooms are small and spartan but somehow seem appropriate for the occasion. The food and service are very good, and it's wonderful to be able to just "roll out of bed" and head for the mountain. The entrance to the ruins are only steps from the front door of the Lodge making it also convenient for collapsing at the end of a strenuous day of hiking. The ruins themselves are breathtaking - truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The whole package is truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    283
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
626
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen,TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I wouldn't want to stay any place else while visiting Machu Picchu. The key word - location, location, location! Great dinner and drinks for our group of 14. Rooms are small but adequate. We spent all of our time outdoors on the site or in the restaurant, so we didn't miss the square footage in the hotel room. It's worth it to stay here one night while you are trekking around the site or climbing Huaynu Picchu or heading for the Sun Gate. Location - that's what you are paying for, and the ability to access the site after everyone else has headed for the train. It's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at 11am, having walked the Inca Trail and been up since 3am, and although our room wasn't ready, our bags were waiting and the bar was available and most welcoming. To be sure after camping 3 nights in the Andes the room was perfect, the splurge was more than worth it. Having read other reviews I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was for such a petite property. We booked the shaman wedding which was absolutely amazing. Having got emotionally attached to the area on the trail, to finish with a wedding ceremony was very moving. The staff ensured a smooth ceremony and made our stay very memorable. We are so glad we spent extra staying here, it meant our bags arrived courtesy of Orient-Express both to and from the station, we literally walked out of the citadel and into a welcoming bar and had the leisurely views of the site others just wished they would have had that you don't get staying at Machu Picchu pueblo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I agree with GaryK104's review on Sept. 27, both as to positive things (great location and food) and limitations (room quality perfectly adequate, but not luxurious as one would expect given the price). All I have to add is that even the deluxe mountain view room at $1400 per night is not a large room and overpriced. As promised, these have nice little terraces with a mountain view, but not of the site itself. Nice to relax there after leaving the site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is small but beautiful as are the rooms. The service is amazing and as the other reviewers have stated, they take good care of you even though you are staying for only one night. ( special waiter Uriel). Nice to not have to go down the mountain after a long day of hiking at Machu Picchu. Makes it convenient to be there more than one day. The rooms are nice and nothing spectacular but you have to remember you are not paying for the room but for the convenience of staying at the property. Food in the restaurant was very tasty, as were all the meals I had while in Peru. One nice little perk is that the hotel takes your bags down the hill to the train station so you don't have to. Then when you pick up your bags, the porters take you to a very luxurious separate waiting area with drinks to wait for your train. Was well worth the splurge if this is a once in a lifetime trip.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the garden and not the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Walk out the front door of the hotel, turn left and, if there is no line, you are inside Machu Picchu in less than a minute - not bad. Part of my grading of this hotel is that proximity to Machu Picchu. The front desk staff were very good but not as great as those at the other Orient-Express hotels we've stayed (I asked 3 times at the desk about getting one of their bathrobes and having it shipped back to the US - they kept saying the would get me the answer; when I got the answer I was told $200 to send it back; that includes a hefty up-charge since we shipped 30 pounds of custom pottery in a custom wooden crate back for $200). The restaurant and bar staff were great. The dinner and breakfast we had here were both very good. At dinner, they had a group play live local music - which was very cool to hear and see. They have a beautiful orchid garden around back. Pricey hotel but so extremely convenient - by staying here, you can close down Machu Picchu each night and get into Machu Picchu very easily for the sunrise. Staying at any other hotel (any) requires you to take the switchback bus route up the mountain and back each trip - 20 minutes plus whatever line you need to stand in to wait for the bus. Only downside of staying up here is lack of anything else - no choices where to eat, no shopping et al - but who needs that when Machu Picchu is right there!

Room Tip: Ask for a Machu Picchu view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The most obvious reason to stay here is the hotel's location at the entrance to Machu Picchu. That said, the hotel and staff did a fairly good job of offering hospitality, including free drinks at the bar for guests. Our best experiences were in the bar and restaurant. The room itself is fairly standard, looked out toward other rooms perhaps 15 feet away (with a wall between so we were not looking directly into other rooms), but was clean and comfortable. The outdoor area aside the hotel was a pleasant garden and a nice place to sit and read.

Yes, the location is awesome. In my experience, that can yield a very mediocre hotel experience, but that was not the case here. It is very, very expensive, and more than one would normally pay for such a room in most other locations, but then, there's the sunrise at Machu Picchu without the crowds and not having to take the bus up the mountain back and forth from Aguas Calientes. Wow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.