We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Kingwood
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's the best hotel at Machu Picchu, and not just because it's the only hotel immediately at the gates of Machu Picchu. It's run by Orient Express, so the perfection of service and comfort is expected and is found at this property. It's terribly expensive and even at that reservations are hard to get, but it's wonderful. Climbing the Machu Picchu ruins is physically tough, so it's nice to have a very short trip to return to a perfect cocktail, wonderful room, great food, and attentive service. Most important, try to get up and into the ruins when it opens for the day, so that you can experience dawn (IF the weather cooperates.)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are darn near perfect. There are some just outside a little patio, but the real at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    284
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
629
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the Sanctuary Lodge with my family. The rooms were very average and plain, and the beds were not very comfortable. Most of the employees were not fluent in english. It is very conveniently located, though. It is not even a minute walk to Machu Picchu. The restaurant at the hotel was very average. Food was alright, and the decor was alright. Service was up and down. Some meals were quick, some were slow. One meal took 1 1/2 hours. The waiters were always pleasant. This is only the hotel for you if you aren't willing to take a 10 minute bus drive to Machu Picchu and if you're able to deal with mediocre service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As other readers have stated, staying at SL is all about the location. Walking off the site only 100 paces or so to your room couldn't be nicer.

We got a presential suite for our stay which included a living area, two full baths and a large bedroom. There is also a walkout patio with a view of Huaynapicchu. The room was more than adequate with a nice shower, closet area, etc...

The restaurant was reasonably good, albeit service a little slow. They provide all food and well beverages as part of the accommodations. They also have wi-fi available everywhere.

The staff was very friendly and spoke good english. My father-in-law fell down entering the lobby and the hotel proprietor was there immediately to see if he was ok. It was a nice gesture.

If you plan to spend more than a single day at MP, I highly recommend staying at SL. It's worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you want to stay at the entrance to Machu Picchu, there is no other choice. Small rooms and bathrooms. Somewhat dated decor. Not exactly luxury class for the money asked.

That being said, we really enjoyed being here. The food service was quite good. And selections were rather amazing considering where you were.

Room Tip: Avoid street side. Tourists arrive at 5:30AM to see the sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We took the Hiram Bingham to Aguas Caliente. Most of the passengers on that train were also staying at the Sanctuary Lodge. Those of us who were on the HB were also in the same tour group upon arriving at MP. This made our visit more enjoyable because it built a sense of community as there is not much to do once the park closes.

I've read a few complaints about the physical appearance or ammenties of the lodge. Note that the property is called "lodge" not "resort". Secondly, the property is owned by the Peruvian government which due to their guidelines, Orient Express is limited to making any physical changes to the property. That said, we were happy with our room (we booked a terrace room), the design and appointments were appropriate, and I appreciated OE's desire to limit it's physical imprint on the property. All disposable are recycled with appropriate baskets in each room and the ammenties such as shampoo bottles are resued (in clay containers).

We loved the food and were happy with the beverage choices which were a part of the lodging fee. After a long day of train and bus rides, hiking and trying to acclimate to the altitude, we slept well. We had no issues with noise by other guests nor by general traffic throughout the hotel. While many of the other guests decided to go as a group to watch the sunrise, we chose to drink coffee from our terrace and take our time.

I appreciated being greeted by the doorman to confirm us as guests of the hotel. It was just one more level of security for my items as there are so many visitors to MP each day. We found that this practice of greeting by the doorman is done at other OE properties as well. Furthermore, we had access to the property that the tourists did not. Our doorman did remember us the first day but did not the second day. This was no problem as the gentlemen who worked at the reception desk knew us by name. The reception desk staff also work as our concierge and helped with bus tickets for the next day, entry tickets to the park, transportation of our luggage to the train station and contacted a driver for us in Cusco.

The evening we stayed, a group of us met in the restaurant and dined, drank and enjoyed conversation of each other's travels. The staff kept the restaurant open as long as we desired, kindly served us with light appetizers (after dinner hours) and continued to pour drinks as we requested. They by no means rushed us to get out of the restaurant but were gracious and smiled although we stayed beyond their hours of operation.

Suggestion: If you stay at SL, plan to book some time in the jacuzzi. The view of MP from the jacuzzi is amazing. It takes approximately 1 hour to heat the water, so be certain to confirm your reservation time. I suggest you hop in the day you leave as your legs will be tired. There is a day room which has a shower you can use before leaving the property. Our train departed at 5:00 pm so we hopped in for a cocktail and relaxation at 3:00 pm.

All in all, this is a great option for those who wish to splurge. Two days in Machu Picchu seemed to be plenty of time for us to explore the entire site but one day would have been too short.

Room Tip: We booked the terrace rooms. They say that it is two twin beds but ours were pushed together, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is pleasant enough; the rooms are small, the bathrooms are impossibly tiny, there is no view at all as rooms back on to each other with just a fence between them and the decor is a bit tired, but everyone reading these reviews already knows it's all about the location. We wanted to spend two days at Machu Picchu - one to get oriented to the main site and one to climb Huayna Picchu and relax afterwards. We didn't want to risk overdoing things and suffering from altitude sickness, which wasn't a problem in the end. The location of this hotel, right at the gate of Machu Picchu, enabled us to make an early start before the crowds and to relax afterwards without having to line up for a bus down the mountain. Those shocked by the price should also remember that the rate includes meals with wine and cocktails and the restaurant does both very well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Machu PIcchu was on my travel buddy's and my bucket list for a long time. We combined it with Galapagos.

To do it right, we decided to go "whole hog" and do the Hiram Bingham and Sanctuary Lodge's package, spending one night and doing a tour, train ride on the Orient Express train, and then getting a ticket for the park the next day.

First, be sure you make arrangements with the Lodge directly for the next day's entry ticket. You only get a ticket for the day you arrive with a guide.

Second, consider spending two nights at the Lodge if you plan to hike your sox off while there.

With that, let me tell you about the Lodge and the train.

The train ride is fun and the food is pretty darned good. We enjoyed that a lot. But, make sure you check in early so you get a good seat and hope you don't get stuck with a 2 seat set up. It's narrow and we were spoiled going out with a 4 seater for two of us and then stuck in a 2 seater when we were beyond exhaustion.

The Lodge is a very pretty place. Our room was quite nice and I thought it was better than some reviews led me to expect. I just wish we'd had more than 22 hours to enjoy it. You get your room at 1 pm, go on a tour, come back, spend the night (we were pooped) and then go out and have to check out by 11 am.

We wish we had spent a second night and taken it a little easier.

The food was good, not over the top fantastic, but the choices were good and we really didn't have anything to complain about except the National Geographic crowd coming into the bar/restaurant, doing Pisco shooters and screaming at the top of their lungs through drinks and dinner....that ruined the entire dining room for everyone else. But that wasn't the Lodge's fault.

Being able to go into the park early and stay late is a huge advantage for Lodge guests. We got images of the park with almost no one in it and that is amazing.

There is a day room, with showers, for the end of the day so you can freshen up before the train ride back to Cusco.

Be sure to arrange your driver who takes you to Polroy, to pick you up as well. It's late, it's cold and you're exhausted.

If you can swing this trip financially, do it right. Do the Hiram Bingham package, spend two nights and enjoy the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Room 40 is at the end and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.