We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every dime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Marathon, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth every dime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I saw the lines for the bus!! So glad I chose this option - only had to take the bus up one time and down one time! This hotel allows you to come and go to the MP park- at your times- sunrise was mine and it was beautiful! The service and food impeccable! So worth it and would repeat the same experience again!

Room Tip: Saves alot of time when touring MP no lines for buses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    284
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
629
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Keep in mind you're paying the experience of an overnight in Machu Picchu, not luxury. Rooms are small (I was lucky to be upgraded to one of their 2 suites) but the suites have a nice living area and a very big terrace overlooking Wayna Picchu. Bathrooms are even smaller, but when you're spending just one night, those things a not a major issue. All very comfortable though, Orient-Express standard.
Service is very, very good and so is the food (full board, afternoon lunch included, along with bus ride from Aguas Calientes, park entry and excellent tour guide). I actually think you can't put a price to that experience and not having to ride 3h back to Cusco after a whole day in the park or even sleeping in Aguas Calientes, which is not a charming town.
Staff is extremely courteous (as all Peruvians) and they have a very nice garden with lots of orchid varieties and a nice, big jacuzzi, which you have to reserve in advance.
Depending on your budget I definitely recommend it. If you're looking for luxury and you're not willing to ride back to Cusco or Sacred Valley, consider Inkaterra in Aguas Calientes.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same category. If you want an amazing view, go for one of the 2 suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This comes with a big price tag but this was worth every cent. Location, location can I say more. The rooms were small but well designed, clean and private. The food sensational and the staff looked after our every need. Lovely grounds and the day room was really usual, clean and had what we needed while we waited our departure. Loved it here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were at first reluctant to spend the money for this hotel and considered staying in Aquas Calientes instead. We are now so glad we made the decision to spend the night here. The hotel is small with 31 rooms because it was originally built for the workers who helped develop the park. Orient Express has upgraded it and with it's reputation for 5 star service has created one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. During our 1 night stay, we visited the park 5 times including a sunrise visit where we had the park almost to ourselves. It was only a 2 minute walk to the entrance and we walked in when the park first opened at 6:30 AM. We didn't need a guide for that visit. We just enjoyed the quiet and peace of this incredible ancient city. Our room opened onto a grassy terrace, just a short walk from a stone walkway that led to a jungle path where the hotel had hummingbird feeders hanging from trees. The dining room features Peruvian dishes and had excellent food along with a Peruvian combo that played native instruments. If you stay here take a break from your sightseeing at Machu Picchu and come back to the hotel for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Machu Picchu!

Best Regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from a 12 day stay in Peru. We figured the SL would be convenient while at Machu Pichu. While it was convenient, we didnt feel it was necessary expense wise. The restaurant was excellent including the breakfast buffet however the room was very basic and given the amount of time spent in the room, I would opt for the nice hotel down the mountin in town. I will add we thoroughly enjoyed the massages after hiking MP all day. There is a "day room" to shower and change in after checkout. So bottom line...if money is no object, sure why not, but if you are looking to be practical and wish to save some money to spend at the Pisco market, pass this one up.

Room Tip: Rooms with private patios looked nice if you were planning on spending time "at your room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. After staying at hotels in America's national parks (ugh!) we did not expect much. What a pleasant surprise. We were upgraded to suite with a very large balcony. The hotel is 50 paces from the entrance to the park. After a scary 30 minute ride up the mountain, you definitely want to stay here and not at a hotel at the bottom of the mountain. The room was pleasant. The bed was king size and comfortable. There was an ipod docking station. The reception has about 200 movies you can pop into the dvd player. They have direcTV so you get lots of stations. There is a minibar with snacks, which is included in the room rate. As were traveling on a private Orient Express trip, the stay was all inclusive- meals, minibar etc. Even the liquor was included.The food was excellent. We had trout for dinner, salads for lunch and eggs and pancakes and eggs for breakfast. There was a Peruvian band playing while we ate our dinner. My wife had a manicure and for a hotel, the cost was very reasonable. The staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest:


We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. We loved staying inside Machu Picchu. We enjoyed being able to sit in the Resturant/Bar enjoying a drink watching the sunset. Your alternative is to stand in line and wait for one of the busses to cart you off to Aquas Calientes. So my preference was to splurge and stay at the Lodge.
The problem was that we set our expectations too high. The only point of reference that we had was the website. It shows the in obstructed view of Huayna Picchu mountain from your lanai.
We were lucky to have one of the 2 rooms with a view of H.P. and it is not unobstructed as the website shows. The lanai looks into a courtyard and over the rooms in front of you stands Huayna Picchu mountain. The rooms are extremely small, old and in need of refurbishing. The staff was nice, food is good. I would rate it as. 3 star hotel with 4 star service.
We had a little glitch with the reservation. They lost it actually. So the 2 staff that was supposed to meet us at the train station didn't and we had to find our way to the hotel. We were stressed the entire way to the lodge not knowing if the pinnacle of our trip was going to end in disaster. They found our room, actually they weren't fully booked as assumed. Marc the manager was empathetic and comped us two nice massages. In retrospect, we are glad that we stayed at the lodge. After all, it's a once in a lifetime opportunity. Be realistic with your expectations and don't rely on the Sanctuary Lodge website as point of reference.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.