We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Sanctuary Lodge to your Saves list
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are traveling mainly to go to Machu Picchu, this hotel is ideally located at its entrance.
It is quite expensive, though, so I expect something nicer. As it is run by Orient Express I was expecting a 5 stars hotel, though it looks more like a lodge. But anyway, it is worth staying if you don't mind spending a bit more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours. However, it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention everyone.

Indeed there are other hotels in the town of Aguascalientes but none of them offer the privilege to overnight nestled in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel. Indeed you may decide to overnight in town, but considering the time consumed by the bus trip means that between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the second queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town of Aguascalientes to the Citadel, all round trip, it will take away an average of two hours on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue the discovery of Machu Picchu. Also, around 6.00 am a couple of bus have may arrived but you are still among the very first traveler in entering to the Citadel and may enjoy the site still almost empty.
We deeply value your comments and will keep on with all the efforts and focus, carrying on with the reinforcement of our service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers always rank.

Sincerely,
Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    283
    108
    35
    20
See reviews for
227
626
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the lodge. It was especially memorable due to efforts of the staff - most notably Daniel and Jose. They were quite helpful during our stay there. We weren't able to keep our morning appointment at Huayna Picchu due to heavy rains. Nevertheless, they were able to go and ensure our entrance at a later time. Overall, the whole staff were exceptional. We were glad to have been there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The proximity of the Sanctuary Lodge can't be matched. While some staffs might take that for granted, you will find here that every need is attended, every courtesy is extended, and in an elegant environment. Be considerate of language barriers, although the staff makes a considerable effort to accommodate all visitors from everywhere. And while tourists who stay elsewhere create a stream of busloads disembarking past my breakfast table, I enjoyed a sumptuous and leisurely breakfast before enjoying the grounds. Highly recommend. Worth the price of the stay.

Room Tip: This is a small place. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Honestly, I didn't like this hotel. Despite their very high price for accommodation, the service was so bad that I felt irritated. It's true that they have a unique place next to Machu Picchu ruins, but that's all. If I have another opportunity to visit Machu Picchu, I'm sure to stay in Aguas Calientes because there has no inconvenience for bus transportation from that town to MP.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but, however, it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

Hotels located in in the town of Aguascalientes, none of them offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, in the case you overnight in town, the for concerning prices none, our hotel is an all-inclusive and offer the privilege to overnight on a platform of the Citadel when our guests do not suffer any noise disturbance from evening to morning as they overnight “alone” in this Sanctuary. Also, in the case you overnight in town, you may suffer from the noise a town generate until late at night, also the time consumed by the bus trip means that between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel, all round trip take away an average of two hours on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue the discovery of Machu Picchu.

We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers use to rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visiting Machu Picchu is a once in a lifetime experience. We wanted to see it at its best and decided to hike in on the one day trail, so we arrived at MP quite tired, but thrilled, around 1530. Spent some time just gawping and then had the joy of just walking into Sanctuary Lodge, rather than 25 min. bus to AC, find hotel etc etc.
Next day, up at 0530 to be at the gates at 0600 for sunrise at 0630, again without an hour's travel /waiting up from AC. Had the official 2 hour tour, spent another couple of hours and completed the experience by 1030 as many others were arriving.
And the deal we had at the Lodge was all in - food, drinks, the lot (through Lima Tours but presumably generally available) - hence we felt our decision to splash out was absolutely right.

Plan your time at MP as late as possible in your trip to give best chance to be acclimatised - we saw too many who struggled having 'gone up' from Lima to MP at 3300m.

Room Tip: There are only 30+ - all beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Machu Picchu is breathtakingly beautiful and this hotel is right at its side. For this reason alone, I will go back and stay here again and again whenever I come back to visit Machu Picchu.

The hotel has friendly and efficient staff, clean and cozy rooms and the restaurant food was quite good. Considering how busy they were (we were there just before Christmas - highest peak season so it was fully booked and the restaurant was extremely busy), we received pretty good service overall. But nothing regarding the hotel itself was extraordinary except for the location and the view! If I was going anywhere else and paying at this rate, I would be very picky and demanding in terms of what I am getting in return, but we were very happy to get just what we have gotten (the superb location right next to Machu Picchu and the reasonable service etc). We arrived in the early evening just before the gate was closed so we were able to go in to the citadel to have a quick glance at the ruin and returned next morning to admire it in full scale. We watched the sunrise there and came back for breakfast and then headed back there again. It would not be so convenient if we were staying in Aguas alienates, also, it would have taken away the mysterious feel that one gets being at Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Mountain View Terrace which I highly recommend. The terrace looks at the Huayna Pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I know this place is pricy, but it is well worth it. Machu picchu is very difficult to get to. The location of the sanctuary allows you to really experience this wonderful place. We got up early both mornings to watch the sun rise over the citidel. Afterwards we were able to walk back to the hotel for a great breakfast. We secured a wonderful guide( edgar). He gave us an easy yet very imformitive tour of the ruins. Stay here! You will not regret it.
Special thanks to Daniel , he could not have worked harded to help us during our stay.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a great deal of difference in the rooms. We had a delux mountain view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Machu Picchu, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located adjacent to the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. It offers its guests exceptionally easy access from early morning to late afternoon, when most of the day visitors and buses have left. Sit out on a terrace and savour Peruvian cuisine based on produce grown on the Lodge's own plot: this delightful hideaway is the perfect place to relax and unwind in the shadow of the Lost City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.