We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the Sacred Valley wonders on the way to Machu Picchu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway

Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway
Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 Attractions in Sacred Valley
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This three-hour rail journey between Cusco and Machu Picchu takes passengers through spectacular mountain scenery, dramatic canyons and along the beautiful Urubamba River with stops in the picturesque village of Poroy and other colorful small towns in the foothills of the Andes.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Sacred Valley wonders on the way to Machu Picchu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the best way to travel from Cusco to the Sacred Valley. The train is clean, the seats are comfortable (except on the way there I was given a seat that had me going backwards for four hours which made me a little motion sick).
Depending on the class of service, a nice healthy lunch is served. There's also entertainment on the return trip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    98
    33
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keremeos, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“some nice scenery, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We took the newer "Inca rail" train, which has to get off the main track every time it meets a "Peru rail" train, which owns the track, so the schedule really gets blown up. Also, there was not very good comfort due to a lack of legroom, and the fact that you are seated face to face with other seats. If I had to do it again, I would take a bus to Aguas Calientes. If you do go, take advantage of daylight for the scenery.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“This rail will take you to Machu Picchu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Cusco is a city of high altitude and I found it difficult to breath normal as i walked around. The altitude slowed me down a bit, but the culture surely made up for it. The city has lots of historical sites and modern-day Incas that I got friendly with.

Once on the railway, I enjoyed the scenery of mountains and streams as I embarked to Machu Picchu. The staff is professionally dressed and they serve snacks along the way. The ride was relaxing as I anticipated visiting Machu Picchu. Make sure you get there early so you can take advantage of the town around the rail. There are mountain people dressed in the native attire and cultural places to eat and shop. Goods there was less expensive

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“incajungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Jungle is one of the best adventure alternative trek in comparation to the classic Inca Trail, that captures the majestic energy of Machu Picchu through ancient paths designed by the incas and that will ...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
191 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We loved this train ride, it was a beautiful carriage and we had refreshments on board. The scenery was just incredible. A wonderful trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cusco & Machu Picchu Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.