We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an Eden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green House Peru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sacred Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green House Peru
Route Pisac-Ollaytaytambo Km 60.2 | Huaran, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 105 Sacred Valley B&B and Inns
Sydney - Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“an Eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

In 9 months of travel through South America, The Green House Peru is by far our absolute favourite accom! it was such a relief to find a sanctuary away from Cuzco´s mayhem! Bryan and Gabriel looked after us well beyond expectations; from the tranquil setting, Bryan´s beautiful gardens attracting humming birds and butterflies, to the culinary masterpieces Gabriel created each evening with garden fresh organic fruits and vegetables. Nestled deep in the sacred valley we were a short bus/taxi ride from all the Inka ruins and common tourist attractions; the boy´s were very helpful with tips and directions. we felt like family from the very beginning!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
200
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel is a true hidden gem. It is a great basis to visit the different sites in the Sacred Valley and allows you to remain far away from all the stress in Cuzco. In fact, I would recommend visitors to stay at the very least 3-4 days (a week would be best) to fully enjoy the place. Machu Picchu can be easily done in a day. Gabriel and Bryan are kind and generous hosts, and definitively care about their guests more than any other place I've stayed at. The food they cook is fresh and delicious, and the rooms are simple but very comfortable. If you are to truly enjoy the Sacred Valley, the Green House is probably your best bet!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Green House deserves the high rating and praise it has received on Tripadvisor. I booked 7 days there with my family (after checking Tripadvisor) and was not disappointed.

It is a beautiful place right in the middle of the sacred valley and is surrounded by farmland. A good location for a day trip to Cusco, all of the valley towns and ruins, as well as Machu Picchu.

Breakfast was the same each day. A freshly prepared fruit bowl, a couple of scrambled eggs, orange juice, coffee, and hot bread with jam. All very good.

The local bus is easy to use for transportation in the valley. You just wave when you see one coming... it is as simple as that.
Gabriel can tell you what the fares should be.

Brian and Gabriel speak English fluently and were able to explain everything we needed to know before going out and exploring the valley each day. My family does not speak Spanish , except for the most common words (hello, how much, some numbers...). We really had no problems... can't say that we didn't have a few "challenges" but that's part of the fun travelling in Peru.

By the way -- I felt safe everywhere we went in valley with my family.

The solar hot water was impressive. No shortage of really hot water at any time.

The "four bed Master" was a regular sized room with four beds and not much else. I kind of expected it to be bigger, but it worked out fine. The room and bathroom were spotless.

We had a great stay at the Greenhouse.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We travelled throughout Peru for a month, so stayed in many places.
The Green House was a spectacular haven. We were there for several
days and everyday was a delight. Gabriel and Brian became like
family. Each evening after a wonderful meal (great cooking by Gabriel)
we would sit by the fire place and enjoy an evening of conversation.
While our husbands were on the Lares trek, my friend and I just
relaxed and enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I chose to stay in the Sacred Valley instead of Cusco to acclimatize. SV is lower than Cusco in altitude. That said, the sunshine, fresh air, friendly hosts Bryan and Gabriel, and being away from the dust/hustle & bustle of Cusco made The Greenhouse Peru a haven! It´s a great base for exploring Machu Picchu, Ollanta, Pisac etc. Do take note that it is about 1.5 hrs drive away from Cusco. The place is also home to 3 friendly (and probably luckiest) dogs in Peru.
Service wise- at night, the hosts always ensure a hot water bottle is warming the bed, and when i needed to wake up super early to start my trek in Tinki (Southern Cusco), they woke up early too to prepare my brekkie beforehand!
Dinner is also available upon request at a great price, and Gabriel is a whiz in the kitchen!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have only just returned home from our brilliant trip to Peru and all I could think about how much I missed The Green House!!! Peru overall was awesome, the Ina Trail, the scenery etc, but what made it especially memorable were the places you stayed and the people you meet. Bryon and Gabriel deserve 20 out of 10, I am not kidding! we felt like we were staying at the Greenhouse not as paying guests but as long lost friends. They will truly welcome you with welcomed arms and will make your stay as comfortable as possible. Gabriel is a truly speculator cook that we ate every night there! my mouth still water at the thought of his chicken surprise pot!! Bryon also directed us to the secret waterfall walk, which turned out to be a highlight of our trip as we were absolutely alone and there were no other tourists around to fight for the magnificent view of the valley, see it to believe it!! We loved everything about our stay at The Greenhouse and still can't believe our luck in finding this place!! Bryon, Gabriel, Lika and Paco (sorry I can't remember the name of the black puppy!) - we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Wow! This place is just excellent. It lacks absolutely nothing. From 24/7 hot water for tea and a dvd room with all latest releases to the most amazing and serene surroundings. We stayed in the Green House after 4 days on the Inka Trail and it was the perfect remedy for the exhausted state that we were in. We arrived late in the evening and dinner was waiting for us (and what yummy 3-course dinner it was!). The room was beautiful, relaxing and comfortable adorned with local handicrafts. We woke up the next morning to realize that we were not only within lush gardens but surrounded by mountains. We chose to spend most of our 3-day stay in the Green House (why would you want to leave?), reading our books, playing with the adorable dogs, eating their delicious food and chatting with Gabriel and Bryan, the best hosts ever. Gabriel and Bryan also put a lot of effort in giving back to the local community and that counts. I really miss this place and hope to be back there soon. For anyone traveling in Peru, I think a stop at the Green House to refuel is in order.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green House Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House Peru

Address: Route Pisac-Ollaytaytambo Km 60.2 | Huaran, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Sacred Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Green House we cater to each individual need, offering many activities. We offer a unique and tranquil resting place, welcoming every type of visitor. We offer free use of communal kitchen, TV room with vast collection of DVDs and Satellite, book exchange, library, Internet, meditation area, common area with games and fireplace, laundry service, Daily menu and specials, prepared with our own home-grown organic vegetables, transportation available, free Tourist information and helpful tips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green House Peru Hotel Sacred Valley
The Green House Peru Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green House Peru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Green House Peru to your Saves list