We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala

Cala
Costa Verde, Playa Barranquito, Barranco | Espigon B-2, Circuito Vial Costa Verde, Barranco, Lima Lima 4, Lima Peru, Peru (Barranco)
252-9187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,079 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Barranco
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent meal, great atmosphere and amazing service, perfect experience. Loved the ocean view and had a terrific experience at Cala. Great for entertaining friends

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    197
    47
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence for all the years I have eaten here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After not eating here for more than I year I recently returned to eat a Friday lunch with my son. Food and service were outstanding as always. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were visiting friends who live in Lima and one of whom was celebrating his 65th Birthday. As a treat for him and his family, we offered to take them out for a meal. Cala was selected, though none of our friends or their family had been there before, despite living in Lima for over 15 years.

The unanimous view was that this was the best restaurant meal that any of us had ever enjoyed in Peru.

The service was perfect - attentive but not overly so. The food choice was excellent (we all love seafood, though one of our party did turn carnivore for the day) and so beautifully presented. The chefs are artists as well as the very best of cooks!

Do try Cala. Do go at lunchtime when it's perhaps not so busy and you can enjoy the views out onto the Pacific breakers. Do try and go in a group where you can try lots of different selections from the menu.

Do go.

It's worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Verry good sea food platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A couple of weeks ago we went to this restaurant and had a wonderful time, the sea food platter was very good, the Pisco sour also and the view of the beach and the waves was relaxing I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Already dreaming about going back there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The kind of place you like so many dishes that´s really hard to choose. Great experience, can´t wait to go back there. Dont waste the chance to try cebiche Cala.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cala also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.