We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barranco's Backpackers Inn

Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barranco's Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Mariscal Castilla 260 | aka Malecon Castilla 260, Lima 13, Peru (Barranco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Lima
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Friendly owner and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

After spending a terrible night at the One Hostel, we got out and came to Barranco Backpackers. What a difference! The owner Chris is very friendly and has information about anything you want to know. The place is like a large house and we tried both a dorm room (due to unavailability of private) and a private room. The rooms upstairs have a great view of the sea. The place is decorated well and feels friendly. Highly recommended!

Shelley
http://shelleytravel.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: Upstairs to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
28
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights before starting a trip from Lima and were so glad we did. Firstly Barranco is one of the nicests parts of Lima and has Miraflores the next area along the coast too which is also really nice.
As for the Hostel is was friendly, clean and had a nice atmosphere. Chris was so helpful giving details of places to eat, sea and how to get around. It is a was outside central Lima but only a v cheap and easy bus ride to the centre and as mentioned before - Barranco was my favourite part of Lima

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisco, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Great location in the more bohemian and chilled part of Lima. 2 min from the beach.
The local staff and the british owner are fantastic and really helpsome.
Best choice in Barranco !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Great location in barranco & barranco itself is miles better than miraflores or Lima-it's pretty chilled here in comparison with local market selling fantastic freshly cooked food all weekend, packed with locals playing different music -drums,band,panpipes etc. Colectivo bus to Lima or miraflores cost 1sole and the journey on this type of bus must not be missed !! Hotel barranco is clean & basic, breakfast consists of a banana & two brown bread rolls with jam, free Internet &wifi available, staff friendly &helpful & wil organise taxi from airport etc. Would recommend this place as great base to retreat to when exploring Lima, miraflores & barranco.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Nice rooms, clean with comfy beds and cable tv in our private room. Excellent location and extremely helpful staff offered lot of good advice on things to do, general tips, and planning the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

First taste of hostels in Peru, and it was a good one. The rooms are cleaned everyday, your bed made (which is a nice touch!) and the bathroom cleaned. You're provided with a towel, a bar of soap and a loo roll. The dorms have big lockers which are useful, although i have to say I didnt feel uncomfortable leaving my belongings out and only put a few things in the locker. The staff were very accomodating when my friends didnt show up on the day that i expected them to, breakfast was decent and Chris the owner was helpful for information and advice about the area. My only caveat is that the bathroom door in the dorm i was in is made of frosted glass which you can see through when the light is on, just something i noticed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Clean, nice staff, great location, good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barranco's Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barranco's Backpackers Inn

Address: Mariscal Castilla 260 | aka Malecon Castilla 260, Lima 13, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Barranco's Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barranco`s Backpackers Hotel Lima
Barrancos Backpackers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barranco's Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.