We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, Clean and well Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro

Save Saved
You added Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Petit Thouars 5444 | Miraflores, Lima 033, Peru (Formerly Hotel Es Mundo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 196 hotels in Lima
Australian in Europe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Functional, Clean and well Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the last hotel on trip to Puno, Lake Titicaca and La Paz.
As with all the other Casa Andina Hotels we have stayed in this one was functional, clean and well located.

The big difference with this hotel is the type of guests. It seems that most may be starting or ending their trips at this hotel and as such are arriving early in the day and staying for 1 night. Therefore, front desk is a little busier than the more remote locations of this chain. Firtunatley even though we arrive quite early the tour company was able to get us into room early for our 1 night stay.

Room was quite large, quiet(Faced main road o/s bit did not hear any noise), clean.
There are elevators in this Casa Andina(suspect because it is in city of Lima).

Breakfast was a continental presentation but was not well organised on a number of times food presentation plates were empty and tables sometimes took a while to be cleared. However, still only a minor complaint.

The location is great as there are markets everywhere, PO just up the road, a huge Computer shopping centre also just up the road for anything you might need, The access to the main centre of the city(shops and restaurants) and Kennedy Park is also some 5 minutes away.
Some 20 - 30 minutes walk past Kennedy park one reaches the Ocean and the huge shopping mall(being renovated with new shops etc.) - only eyesore are all the American type eating places(KFC, Macdonalds, Tony Romas etc.).
Walking around Lima during the day and evening did not feel unsafe.

So if one is in Lima to enjoy it's amazing architecture and history and are there for 1 - 3 days and not after 5 star treatment this hotel is clean, functional and well located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    127
    105
    27
    8
See reviews for
49
164
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location 2 minutes walk from the centre of Miraflores, one of Lima's best districts. However the hotel is noisy, and is in need of some TLC - A/C, windows, bathroom furnishings all a bit tired.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. As a top contributor of TripAdvisor, your review is greatly appreciated.

We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations this time. As you mentioned, our hotel is located in the center of Miraflores, near markets and some of the main city attractions. Nevertheless, our windows are sound proofed in order to guarantee our guests ‘good sleep.

We wanted to tell you that your impressions have been shared with our team and we will definitely consider them for future improvement plans.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope we can welcome you again at any of our hotels.

Best regards,
The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of our month long trip to Peru/Bolivia. The hotel is fairly average in terms of room size etc but it is very well located opposite the Indian Market and only five minutes walk from the central area of Miraflores and Kennedy Park. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was more than adequate. Rooms on first floor can be a bit noisy though.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the Casa Andina Classic for two nights prior to my flight to Cusco. It is a fairly small hotel, so it had a bit of a ‘homey’ feel to it. I would not use the word luxury to describe it, but it was a comfortable stay and the price was right. Located in Lima’s Miraflores Centro, it is within easy walking distance to the ‘Inca Market’ and many other shops and restaurants. The bed was very comfortable for me and I had no trouble sleeping both nights, which is unusual because I usually have trouble sleeping when I first check in to a hotel. The bathroom was a bit cramped and could stand some upgrades. The bathroom door would not stay open; it would keep hitting me as I was standing in front of the sink brushing my teeth, which was a bit annoying.
Breakfast came with the room, which included a very nice selection of fruit, cheese, bread, cereal, eggs, etc. that was very good. The eating area was also comfortable. Best of all was the staff; they were extremely helpful and very pleasant. The airline lost my suitcase and several staff members went out of their way to contact the airline trying to find out if they had located my bag and if/when it might make an appearance at the hotel prior to my departure. Unfortunately it did not. I was a bit disappointed that they did not offer a toothbrush and toothpaste when I initially checked in, since I did not have my luggage. I had to go out and find a convenience store to purchase them.
If you do stay at this hotel, be warned that the traffic in Lima can be horrendous, so what may be advertised as “just a 15 minute ride to the airport” could in fact be closer to an hour with traffic. But any hotel in that area will be the same. Overall a good experience for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here whilst on holiday. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Miraflores but we did find it extremely noisy, both because of the traffic outside and because of tour groups crashing about at the crack of dawn and bouncing their suitcases downstairs when they could not fit into the single, antiquated lift. Our room was spacious but very basic and the bathroom was distinctly tired and in need of refurbishment. On the plus side we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were good and the WiFi was excellent. I wouldn't rush back but I suspect it may be difficult to find anything better at the same price in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is majorly in need of renovation - very tired and old.

Ok, the worse thing about this hotel is that there is no WATER PRESSURE in the SHOWER. I felt like I was taking a shower with someone holding a dripping hose over me and the water was barely luke-warm - plus the shower head was low (I'm 6'2") and I had to bend awkwardly over just to put my head under this dripping, luke warm water.... HORRIBLE way to take a fricking shower. When I travel, I like to be clean and I like to take a nice comfortable shower - in a quick manner - not spending a long time trying to get some water over me to wash off... argh.

The second worse thing is the ridiculously small security box in the room.
This is an example of how this hotel never upgraded since 1979. Back in the 70's people didn't have laptops, thus most people only needed to lock jewelery and passports. Well, in the modern age they have laptops and these silly little lockboxes cannot take anything larger than some passports and phones. I also have a large SLR camera and an ipad. I couldn't lock any of these in the room - I just tried to hide them. Also, the lockboxes are these very old antiquated mechanical locks - not the digital ones on the larger boxes in other nicer hotels.

Third: no outlets to accommodate North American electrical devices.
Really? What year is this? Every other hotel I stayed in Lima had outlets that accommodated North American plugs... even cheaper hotels. I mean really? Again, another example of how this hotel seriosuly needs to renovate and get into the 21st century. Also, when I called downstairs in this so-called 3 star hotel to ask for an adapter so I could plug my laptop in, they said, "Oh, we only a few and they are all checked out, but we have some you can buy!" WOW... this is a hotel which is part of a well known chain that's supposed to very reputable and they don't have outlets that accommodate plugs from a country that is the home of probably a large precentage of tourists that visit the hotel?

Fourth: the very small antiquated elevator. Seriously, only one person with their luggage can take this main elevator from the lobby and you have to operate it by manually closing the door. Not nice when there's multiple customers waiting to get upstairs.

Fifth: The decor of the room was very outdated and old... it felt like the furniture in the room was falling apart and to top this all off, the price is too high. You can get a better deal close by with other nice hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location. Just a walking distance from bests restaurants and attractions in Miraflores. Several handicraft markets just across the street and arqueological site Huaca Pucllana within a few blocks Staff is attentive and but misinformed when you ask for places and directions. Cleaning is excellent. Breakfast is quite good. Beds are extremely comfortable, high quality on sheets and towels and a great shower waiting after a long day of walking this beautiful city. That's all I need. No complaints so I definitely will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro

Address: Av. Petit Thouars 5444 | Miraflores, Lima 033, Peru (Formerly Hotel Es Mundo)
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 196 hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern & ideally located hotel in the heart of Miraflores, with 58 contemporary, well-equipped rooms on 6 floors. Perfect for value-seeking travelers keen to be in the midst of Lima’s greatest density of restaurants, shopping and nightlife.While Miraflores is a traditional, residential neighborhood, it has also become the most fashionable, upscale district of Peru’s cosmopolitan capital, renowned for its dynamic nightlife and gastronomic scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro Hotel Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Miraflores Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.