We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love amor amor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Home Peru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Second Home Peru to your Saves list
Second Home Peru
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Domeyer 366 , Barranco, Lima 04, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 219 Lima B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love love amor amor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I absolutely loved staying in this beautiful house! Unfortunately we only had two nights there, but I could easily stay multiple nights at Second Home. I was traveling with my best friend and last minute we stumbled upon this place-- what a score! The property acts as both studio and museum for wonderful local artist Victor Delfin. The grounds are vibrant and alive. It is right on top of a cliff, with spectacular views of the ocean. At night it is equally beautiful. The rooms are unique, clean, and lovely. There are fabulous little terraces with great views to just chill and drink a glass of wine on. The property has one of the most unique pools I've ever swam in, surrounded by Delfin's sculptures. Quite stunning. Mr. Delfin's daughter seems to run the hotel and she was exceptionally welcoming and helpful. She was just very cool and down to earth. And the location is great in the neighborhood of Barranco. A great place to walk around and sample great restaurants. Also great shops and galleries. Barranco is definitely the hip neighborhood to be in. Love love love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    65
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
57
240
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Artistically and comfort-wise, this was the most spectacular accommodation we stayed in during our 3 week Peruvian trip. A beautiful setting on the cliff over looking the Pacific with views up and down the Lima coast. The home and grounds are filled with Victor Delfin's magnificent sculptures and impressive paintings. My mother, an artist herself, fell in love with this place and didn't want to leave. Lilian, Victor's daughter, runs the B&B and was very friendly and helpful during our stay and arranged a visit with Victor in his studio which was a highlight. Our room was huge, comfortable, well appointed and artistically decorated. Breakfasts were tasty, varied and served in a large kitchen that felt like a work of art itself. The neighbourhood is interesting things to see and good places to eat and we found it very quiet for a city. If we are ever in Lima again, this is where we would choose to stay.

Room Tip: We had the family room with 2 double beds. It was huge and even had a lovely side room where we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you've traveled to Peru for a new experience, then Second Home has to be on your list. There is no other hotel in the world quite like it. The property is literally a working art studio/museum for Victor Delfin, the great Peruvian artist. The estate is impeccably maintained and run by Lillian, whose friendliness and willingness to answer all questions is a treat. The rooms are breathtaking with their views of the Pacific.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived late on an international flight and were greeted by Mr. Fernandez at the airport [the driver for Second Home]. He brought us to a local restaurant near Second Home Peru and brought our bags ahead to the hotel for us and they were waiting in our room when we arrived. The room was huge and overlooked the pacific - the views were spectacular! The property is amazingly beautiful and you really feel like it is your second home!

We left early the next morning en route to Machu Picchu but wish we could have spent more time at this special property!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copacabana, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We only stayed one night in this hostel and arrived very late but it was a very good experience. They provided a small heater, we had warm water and the next morning the breakfast was awesome. Fruits, marmalade, eggs and a very good coffee. The view from the garden was really stunning and we wouldn't have left if it wasn't quite expensive for two backpackers (60 USD per room and night).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in early July. The grounds and property are lovely, as is the room we had. I think that the price for this facility, whichincludes breakfast, was more than reasonable. I also loved seeing the dogs!

The first day we went to Centro, and the taxi driver, who this hotel must use frequently, gave us written instructions to give to our return driver, since it's out of the way. That was so helpful!

Definitely a great stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Second Home Peru is fabulous. Not only is it a seriously fantastic value but the atmosphere is interesting, the views are great, breakfast was fantastic (with delicious! bread from a local bakery, eggs and local fruit, jam and coffee). Lilian and her staff couldn't be nicer and the location is good. She really makes sure to accommodate her guests and help provide good suggestions for your time in Lima. The B&B is very close to Miraflores (inexpensive cab ride and even walk-able) and the Barranco District is also interesting. There are restaurants and a market within walking distance. We stayed in one of the Mirador rooms and it was awesome. I saw pictures on the internet but was not expecting such a large room that is reminiscent of a ship in design and architectural touches. It had huge windows with shades, and you can put up a hammock on one end to enjoy the ocean view. Also you can open the curtain and see the ocean from the freakin' shower! It was clean and the beds were comfortable and the sheets very soft. The view was amazing and having a balcony was truly awesome. My husband's parents stayed in the main house in a room with two double beds. And...it had it's own sun porch that extended the length of the room! Their bathroom was a fabulous mix of wood and stairs. It felt very luxurious and constantly smelled like flowers (really). We arranged a pick up from the airport through the hotel and it worked out great. Also, Lilian provided a guide for us and he was awesome. Very patient and up to taking us anywhere. Second Home Peru is like a haven from the city. Quiet and relaxing. They have small refrigerators where you can stock up on wine and water for a fee. Wine glasses are provided in the room. We had no idea that a very well known artist actually resided at the B&B and were in for quite a treat being able to view all his art and his studio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Second Home Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Peru

Address: Domeyer 366 , Barranco, Lima 04, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Second Home Peru 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secondhomeperu embodies the spirit of Peruvian culture combined with the tranquility of the Pacific. This majestic guesthouse with five bedrooms/baths is nestled conveniently in the heart of Barranco, Lima's arts district. Once home to the Peruvian sculptor Victor Delfin, to enter Secondhomeperu is to enter an artist's imaginative world, replete with its creative works. You do not need to search far to find the seedlings of inspiration; they abound in the gardens, terraces and Pacific views of this historic Tudor mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Second Home Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Peru Hotel Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Home Peru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.