We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but not much else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Girasoles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Girasoles Hotel to your Saves list
Girasoles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ernesto Diez Canseco 696 | Miraflores, Lima L18, Peru (Formerly Los Girasoles Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$79 (USD)
Ranked #27 of 202 Hotels in Lima
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice location but not much else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights and we enjoyed the location but not much else. The rooms were very basic. Our first room smelt really bad and smelled like a chain smoker lived in there so we requested another room. Our second room was fine except there was lots of long hairs on the floor. One other complaint... On our first night we quickly awoke at 3 A.M. as one of the staff members was trying to get into our room. He had a key and had opened our door but could not get in as we had the chain lock on the door. Needless to say we did not sleep very well the rest of the night. We complained to the staff about this but they did not give us a good answer on what this staff member was doing. We spoke to the staff in proper spanish yet they were still not very friendly compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Peru.

On the positive side-
1) My wife and I enjoy walking and found this to be in an enjoyable location that was easy to get around to the sites and we felt 100% walking around the local áreas.

2) The breakfast was pretty good and was included with the stay.

All in all I would stay here again due to the location and the fare of the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViajeroWLimaPeru, Gerente at Girasoles Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We apologize for the problems occurred during your stay. We evaluated the incident and observed the errors occurred. We believe that we have been able to do it much better, as you can see in the positive comments in TripAdvisor about the experiences of our guests. We would appreciate if you contact us to the mail comercial@losgirasoleshotel.com, so we can express directly our apologies and compensate you in a possible way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    107
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
67
24
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late from a long flight. The staff, even at a late hour, were very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is well appointed with a sunny atrium and cafe. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a good choice on the buffet breakfast. Wifi is available. Great introduction to Peru for travelers arriving late.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The staff were always ready to help you, the rooms were great (clean, bright), showers were lovely. They had a great included breakfast. Good location - not right in the heart of Kennedy Suare/Plaza de Armas, but definitely walking distance... plus taxis are super cheap in Peru, so I'd even recommend this place for older people (a taxi to Plaza de Armas, Mercado Indio, etc should be about 3 or 4 soles, depending how many people are going in the taxi).
They stored our luggage with no problems, free wifi, and one free computer downstairs in the lobby.
Airport transfer to/from the hotel is 45/50 soles (cheap, considering its a 45-minute ride)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViajeroWLimaPeru, Propietario at Girasoles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Very grateful for your comments, we appreciate you share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Took a tour through Southern Peru and Hotel Girasoles was certainly one of the nicest hotels I stayed at. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. They arranged a taxi pick up for me at 5:30 in the morning which was very helpful. The hotel is located in a perfect spot, just a 15-20 minute walk down to the waterfront, and close to all the major streets if you just want to explore. I really appreciated the cleanliness and modern look of the hotel, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViajeroWLimaPeru, Propietario at Girasoles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Your opinion is very important, thank you for choosing our hotel and we feel very good that our service has been satisfactory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we were delayed coming into Lima by 12 hours, which meant we got to our hotel at 3am. we were a bit anxious that no one would be there to receive us but both the receptionist and concierge were there to greet us, this made our night! the beds were very comfy and the room very adequate. Not a 5 star place but would recommend it for decent, clean and friendly services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViajeroWLimaPeru, Propietario at Girasoles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good location, quiet place, excellent breakfast and service, opportunity to drink and eat in the hotel bar, clean rooms. In 10 minutes walk - the square with a lot of shopping centers areas and restaurants !!! Really good Hotel to explore Lima !!!

Room Tip: room with windows to the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of our tour package. Rooms were clean and relatively new. Had a great sleep for the 2 nights we were there. There's a nearby convenience store along the same street. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to Larcomar Plaza, where a lot of the (more expensive) restaurants and shops of Miraflores are and also about the same walking time to the handicraft markets.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms forward-facing the street and on higher levels as a few rear rooms face towards privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Girasoles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girasoles Hotel

Address: Av. Ernesto Diez Canseco 696 | Miraflores, Lima L18, Peru (Formerly Los Girasoles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lima
#15 Business Hotel in Lima
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Girasoles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll help you enjoy a unique destination.Located in the touristic district of Miraflores,at a short distance of it's Central Park and mayor city attractions.Designed exclusively for touristic and business travelers, of a contemporary style with a Peruvian touch. Our 42 rooms, cafeteria and lounge will give you the confort you expect. You'll be suprised by the enthusiasm showed by all our staff in helping you enjoy Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Girasoles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Girasoles Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Girasoles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.