We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure, clean, helpful basic hotel in Miraflores” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esperanza to your Saves list
Hotel Esperanza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esperanza 350, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Secure, clean, helpful basic hotel in Miraflores”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Basic room, but all the right ingredients! Pick-up ready and waiting even though flight delayed, very helpful Max waiting to welcome, twin room basic and on small size but clean with good clean ensuite. Good location near Central Miraflores Park up relatively quiet side road. Felt very secure. Breakfast nice and efficiently served. Would stay again if looking for similar accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
11
39
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed in Esperanza Hotel in June. The location couldn't be better,
a mere few blocks from Plaza Kennedy. Very safe and quiet area. Ask a room on the first floor. When we came back from Cusco, we got a room on the 5th floor and the water
pressure wasn't that great, but it's perfectly fine for a few days. Breakfast is pretty
much the standard in Peru - coffee, milk, bread, butter, jam, and the quality and service were very good.

Max, the owner, is an extremely helpful and friendly guy. He recommended excellent places around the hotel and took us to a cool pub one night . He went out of his way to help us plan the trip to Cusco. When I lost my credit card and had to postpone the trip, he did everything possible to reschedule the tours, and everything went fine. Also the price of the package (Cusco, Valle Sagrado, Machu Picchu) was very reasonable. It's easier to book it in Lima than to arrange the tours individually in Cusco.
We would certainly stay in Esperanza again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel Esperanza is located two walking blocks from the centre. Safe and good value for the location. The rooms are a bit outdated but all have the necessary amenities you will need. Max was a great host and is very helpful should you be interested in any of the activities available within the city. He was very reliable, friendly and able to plan excursions quickly and last minute. Just ask the front desk for him if you are interested in planning any outtings. I would definately come back to this hotel if I were to visit Peru again and would recommend it to others as well :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

After reading all the reviews in tripadvisor I decided to book this hotel and I was not disappointed. The hotel is in a safe place and is close to Parque Central where the Mirabus stop is as well as lots of restaurants, stores and banks. Larcomar was just a few blocks away and was a pleasant walk as there were lots to see along the way. The breakfast was simple just coffee, tea, juice, bread, butter and jam. Would have like to see some fruits though.
Max treated us well and he arranged a last minute tour for my daughter to Huacachina. As she was leaving for Canada the same day, he picked her up from the bus station and took her to the airport. We really thank Max for his assistance.
We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We've spent one night in Esperanza hotel in Lima. It's located in Miraflores - one of the best neighbourhoods of Lima. But... it's quite distant from the heart of Miraflores, where you have all the the good and trandy places you need to see. Nevertheless, it is located near Park Central and Av. JOSE LARCO. What about the hotel itself? well, room was roomy, had TV and Phone. Had en suite shower as well. Hot water flew in a very thin stream...
Another thing we did not like, was the fact that the hotel was very dark during the day (no lights?). Finally, room was clean but had a terrible smell of damp.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Rooms are very dim and are small, bathrooms are tiny, could use a little paint. But the location is very good. Max is very helpful and set up great tours. We went to Ballestas Islands, Pisco, Huacachina, the Nazca flights and a Lima City tour. No breakfast and no free pickup/drop off from the airport.
There was a Farmer's strike so we had to change our dates to MP, Max was great in helping us out even though we didn't book the tour with him. I did our tours independently with the help of our hotels.
We got stuck at a checkpoint but we don't blame Max(We think the tour van had the wrong papers). Maybe this could have been avoided with a larger tour company but this was a private tour.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Cute little place in Miraflores. Less than 10 minutes of walk from the restaurants and shops. Safe area. The owner, Max, was very nice and helpful. He knows very well Lima and is always happy to show the places to go or to eat. He woke up at 3 am to go to the Nasca lines with us as a translator. After the flight, he brought us to the Huacachina Oasis. It was an extra activity without extra charge. The boogee on the dunes of sand was one of the funniest activity I had during my trip to Peru.

We only stayed half a day and half a night at this hotel but it really worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: Esperanza 350, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Esperanza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.