We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mariel Hotel to your Saves list
Mariel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   General Suarez 240, Lima 18, Peru (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 201 Hotels in Lima
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I would have given this hotel an excellent but we did a packet deal and they put us on the second floor which has no view, unless you count the brick wall three quarters up the window, they also have a "bomba de agua" ( water pump) which woke us up a couple of nights because it was so loud. Everything else about this hotel is excellent, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, from the people who clean the rooms, to the guys outside who get you a taxi, waiters, receptionists, etc, etc. Breakfast was very good and the eggs got a different accompaniment every day. We would definitely use it again if we could guarntee a room higher up!

Room Tip: third floor upwards!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    334
    105
    29
    7
See reviews for
139
272
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I was so skeptical at first about this hotel since I have been to Lima like many times since year 2006 to travel like every other week or month,..yes..A LOT!. And normally (most of times) pictures are not the same with the fact and I have learned a lot from my experiences in this city (especially 1 room to another room, most hotels you can barely hear over the wall and noisy but but not this one). I notice that you can get lower rate thru online web, and I ignore that option and just walk in, because I want to know in reality. First impression, the location is so great, across the hotel is The Art Market, for any souvenirs or collection you want, The Kennedy Park to Pizza Street and the choices of clubs are in your reach or hands, they are just surrounds you within walks distance. Amazed by the bell door and concierge, whom they are so helpful and very accomodating. And on top of it, they speak English!. Tell or ask them what you like or need, they will try their best for you. I am so picky with bathroom, wow...it's nice, from fresh and clean towel, hair dryer is there, the simple toiletries are so nice (I love that exfoliate lemon grass bar soap, I even run to their store to bring some for home). There is LCD TV in the room and also the safety box, and it's clean and not smelly, nice carpet. Wifi is free and you can easily use in your room which I love it. Please do not expect for spacious room, this is more Ibis or Novotel style kind a room from Accors Group. It's small elevator for 4people and it works perfectly fine, and you also have choices to walk from stairs if you like to. Now, talking about bed, I love that feather bed quilt, so comfy, and it has 2pillows(1soft and 1firm). The only thing for me that I need is softer bed not firm one, but my friend whom stay with me in the room, said that the bed is perfectly fine. (I guess is depending your sleep style). And the AC works pretty well and it's well maintained. The closet, you can pretty much put your suitcase also carry on and some hangers are available and extra blanket is available inside it, also in case you want to drop your laundry, they have the laundry bag too. Refrigerator is available in your room with some or limited drinks or snack choices. They have also internet, small bar and little comfy restaurant to eat on 2nd floor and FOOD IS EXCELLENT!!!. The transportation is average $25 one way (hotel to airport), with a nice driver and van. Definitely I will come back here and I will introduce this place to my coworker and my colleagues. I truly hope this property will maintain its service and value. This property is recommended or great for Solo Traveller, Family, Couples, for business or vacation and LGBT Friendly. Affordable!!!. Thank you for all you have done for me!! (Room 304).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

For more than US $130 per night, I had expected something a little nicer.The best thing about the hotel was the airport pickup. We got picked up on time in a new and large van. Things went downhill from there. Once we arrived at the hotel, nobody offered to help us wit our bags. We had to carry our own bags and squeeze into a small elevator where the door had to be manually opened and closed. Our room was clean but it was the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed in (with a width of less than 10 ft and a length not much more than that). The only place that we could sit was on the bed. I honestly don't understand why the reviews here have been so positive. Maybe we got a different room from others? Make sure how big your room is before you book it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alflop007, Gerente at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We have a problem with this people. They start shouting everybody at front desk. Maybe they thought they booked a Marriot. I have to ask them to leave with no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nestled away yet close to everything. Staff was courteous, helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. Breakfast was hot and on time everyday. Services for the hotel were very prompt. Doorman looked out for you and was sure to check every taxista. Very clean rooms, bathroom was immaculate. A nice welcome when arriving in Lima.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Booked direct & stayed 3 nights so got the free airport pickup. This was in nice new car with a good driver, perfect after a 12 hour flight. I agree with all the good comments from other reviews, nice clean rooms & bathrooms, great beds (though pillows a bit firm for me), reasonable buffet breakfast, staff all good & reception staff all spoke good English & very helpful. Easy 5 mins walk to Park Kennedy. WiFi signal a bit varied but they also have 3 good computers with free fast internet, which I´m using now! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors best as road gets noisy from early morning onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was superbly placed next to the Indian market which was just opposite the hotel itself and a fantastic location for all those who want to get lots of gifts for friends and family back home which is what we did.

The rooms were really pleasant with comfortable beds and linen so clean and fresh you could smell the washing powder. Unlike many hotels in South America they gave us really nice soaps and shampoos (not cheap stuff) in the bathroom which was a nice touch. We also had a fridge with a mini bar and the beers and soft drinks were very reasonably priced compared to lots of other places - 5 sols for a beer which is not bad. There was also a giant plasma tv in the room if fancy a nice night in with lots of cable channels available.
Despite being near a main road, the hotel itself was very quiet and we could not hear the comings and goings of other guests so we slept nice and soundly.

The breakfast was a buffet with a great deal of choice from fruits and cereals to breads, cheeses and eggs which was a great start to a full day of shopping. Although we didnt eat dinner or lunch at the restaurant, there was a huge choice available and compared to other restaurants in Lima, the food was very reasonably priced.

When we stayed there we had a slight problem with the air con but the staff responded immediately and came straight away to the room to fix it and it was clear that they took so much pride in ensuring that their guests had a comfortable stay. Needless to say, we very much enjoyed our stay and I wouldnt hesitate to come and stay here again.

A small tip - on our way from the airport to the hotel we picked up a taxi outside the airport for $25 which is the standard charge for this 35 minute journey and the taxi was pretty awful with bad suspension and we were questioning the authenticity of the driver as a ligitimate taxi driver. However we later established that the hotel charge the same price for a single journey either to or from the hotel and their vehicles are people carriers which are so much more comfortable. If you are staying at this great place, it is probably safer and more comfortable to book your taxi with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it struck us as a Peruvian western style hotel, and it was. Clean and comfortable rooms with all the facilities you'd expect. Comfy bed, hot water, wifi, cable tv, minibar etc. Probably towards the more expensive end by peruvian standards, but not outrageously so - and cheaper then western equivalents. Good location, really helpful and friendly staff, ok breakfast. All in all, a safe bet

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariel Hotel

Address: General Suarez 240, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Lima
#27 Business Hotel in Lima
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location, Mariel hotel offers full-equipped rooms and apartments in the heart of Miraflores district. Air conditioning, wifi, tours and car rental services also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mariel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariel Hotel Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.