We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B to your Saves list
Hotel B
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saenz Pena 204, Lima Lima04, Peru (Barranco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Cusco, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm in Lima a lot for business, and had been waiting for this place to open for many years as Lima has been quite sterile in terms of interesting boutique hotels compared to other Latin American cities.

This is really the first and only luxury boutique hotel in Lima, and they have set the bar very high. I stayed twice on either end of a trip to Ecuador, in Atelier Suite 220 and 222 which are both in the old colonial portion of the building which I preferred.

The guest services manager (Lesly) and front desk staff (Judith) were very proactive before each of my arrivals asking if I needed any assistance. They arranged taxi services for me and I like the fact that they gave me options of booking local taxi companies they trusted or executive car services. This was a welcome relief to the other 5 star chain hotels in Lima who seem to be in cahoots with certain taxis that charge you a fortune so they provide kickbacks to the drivers. Not here, they just wanted my stay to be perfect.

The art is really amazing in every room and on every wall of the public areas - certainly thought provoking sort of art that might not be for everyone that is easily offended.

The service was excellent, everyone from the doorman to the bell hops to the restaurant staff went out of their way and I was really made to feel like I was a privileged guest of their home rather than just another overnight guest. The hotel has only 17 rooms so the personalized service matches the intimacy of the property.

I have to say that the restaurant, El Comedor, in the hotel was one of my favorite things. Unlike most hotel restaurants where you find international guests all staring into an Ipad screen and avoiding contact with one another, the restaurant at night was full of locals and international hotel guests, all socializing and being taken care of by the staff like it was some neighborhood gathering spot - which it is. The food was top notch, really good value for money, and almost felt like comfort food. El Comedor is certainly my new hang out spot in Lima.

The library, or "biblioteca", where breakfast and tea time is served is one of the most inviting and cozy rooms I've ever been in. Just the sort of place you want to lounge out in with a good book and while away the afternoon.

Note that each of the rooms at this hotel is different, I look forward to trying all of them!

Thank you Hotel B for pulling off such an incredible work of restoration on the building, being out front in pushing the lodging options into Barranco which is my favorite part of Lima, and for assembling such a charming and dedicated staff. You should be proud of yourselves and I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Suite 222 has a glassed in steam room in the bathroom and was my favorite!! Suite 220 is by far the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
74
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salem, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel. Great staff. Wonderful neighborhood. Fun place to walk around with non-touristy shops. Just a short walk to look over the Pacific. Easy to have hotel get you a taxi that will take you where you want to go and then back again. Delicious food and fun bar. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we highly appreciate them. It is a pleasure to know that you had a great stay at B Arts Boutique Hotel and enjoyed. We are very proud of our product and it is our commitment to keep improving every day.
We look forward to hear from you again and have you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, la
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can not rave enough about our stay at the Hotel B. Everything was fantastic. I slept better here than I do at home. The value of this hotel is worth every penny- especially once you see what you come down to for breakfast.
Absolutely, the staff made this experience truly unique. All of the staff was absolutely professional from the managers, to the bartenders, waiters, concierge, bellman, and maid staff. They made you feel so welcome and I enjoyed getting to know some of them.
We found it hard to leave this hotel- because everything was just so well done. The restaurant and bar downstairs are top notch and after a long day of sightseeing it was a great respite.. But right up the street are several places to dine and see some night life. The Barranco in itself is very artsy and you don't have to walk far to experience much of what it has to offer.
We will be back when we get to Lima again. Absolutely fantastic place.

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms but some of them have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank You very much for your comments, they are very valuable to us. It is our goal to make every stay and unforgettable and perfect one.
We really appreciate that you chose us during your trip to Lima and we sincerely hope to have the chance to have you again at B Arts Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful freshly-painted corner boutique hotel with the distinct feeling you're staying in an art gallery. There are even original paintings above your claw-foot bathtub! Lovely cloud-like beds and sweet shutters opening out over the internal courtyard. Great for couples.

Room Tip: I loved my room - ask for the one with the Chairman Mao painting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank You very much for your review and excellent comments. Our philosophy is provide unique experiences, we are very glad to know we are succeeding so far. It is always encouraging to receive such positive reviews since our goal is to become the best boutique hotel in Lima by making a difference.
We look forward for have you again at B Arts Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staying at Hotel B is going back to the old Lima when Barranco was the beach town where all the old mansions and the very aristocratic society of Lima spent their vacations. Hotel B takes you to a journey through the senses. On my bed I found the signature perfume they created inspired by the flowers that grow there. Every single detail talks about Peru: its art, food, hospitality and sense of luxury...The best place to stay in Lima.

Room Tip: Get the room with the corner with of the alameda...gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Marcela,
Es un placer para nosotros saber que su estadía en B Arts Boutique Hotel fue tan especial y agradecemos sobremanera sus comentarios. Es nuestro compromiso ofrecer siempre estadías especiales e inolvidables y saber que estamos en el camino correcto es una gran satisfacción.
Esperamos contar nuevamente con usted durante su próximo viaje a Lima.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel B was truly memorable. The breakfast included is the best breakfast we ever tasted in Peru: totally gourmet! The rooms are rustic-romantic and full of details, luxury and pampering. They left personalized stationary, made us a bubble bath and treated us like royalty at all times. We only regret not having more.time to spend at the hotel discovering all the effort they have made making each room and window sihht memorable! The pieces of art, the ceramic floors, the very very high ceilings.
Its not near the center nor.in miraflores where.the best restaurants are but a taxi will.take you anywhere for 15soles (5 dollars) just dont take the taxi that the hotel offers because its wayy too expansive. Also.dine at the restaurant in the lobby!! Delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank You very much for your comments, the are highly appreciated and welcomed. At B Arts Boutique Hotel we have the commitment of keep improving every day and become the best option in Lima.
It is really encouraging to receive reviews like yours. Thank You for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is fabulously appointed! Wow - I've stayed in many places but this is really well done. We arrived late in the evening (around midnight) in July and the front desk person didn't offer to assist me with my bag and was a bit unhelpful when my fiance and I asked him for food. We experienced the same service the next am from the front desk person (s). However, the food staff were sweet and the breakfast was yummy. They have to really think through some of the things missing from the room (ie. no trash can in the restroom area), but other than a few minor details, the place looks fab. As they get busier, I'd say a potential problem might be noise because of the doors on the rooms.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we have already took good note of your comments about our staff and taking immediate action on this. It is our goal to provide an excellent service, your opinion is invaluable to us.
We really hope to have you again with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B

Address: Saenz Pena 204, Lima Lima04, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel B 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B, the first arts-boutique hotel in Lima, a restored mansion that feature 17 suites and a signature restaurant by Oscar Velarde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.