We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Choco Museo, Lima, Peru

Choco Museo, Lima, Peru
Calle Berlin 375, Miraflores, Lima, Peru
51014459708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,248 Restaurants in Lima
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

Great place to visit, learn, and enjoy good quality products. Excellent service and interesting decoration.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real draw here is the chocolate workshop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

He had a little bite while we waited for the Chocolate workshop to begin. That is the real reason to go here.

So, just an experience, but the whole thing is you learn how the beans are dried, roasted, ground, and then turned into chocolate... The best part is then you get to do it and take some chocolates with you as souvenirs. It was fun, I would recommend it, and I would probably do it again if I went there with someone else that hadn't done it before. It isn't a huge time investment, but is well worth what time you do spend there.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed across the street from this place so was able to visit it twice.

The first time was for the museum, we were welcomed with a cup of Chocolate Tea which was pleasant. Then walked around the small museum and the shop. The shop had a variety of chocolate products which was nice.

We came back at night for dessert, with our hearts set on crepes, which they were not serving. We had a chocolate brownie and a submarine, which were average.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The store is charming with seating along the sidewalk, the staff are friendly and fun providing lots of interesting information but the sanitary practices of the tour where you make chocolate from cocoa beans leaves a lot to be desired. On that basis alone I can't recommend it.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go for a workshop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The museum itself is nothing special but you can watch chocolate being made. The workshop on how cocoa beans are turned into chocolate is definitely worth the S/.70 if you are interested.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco Museo, Lima, Peru also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Choco Museo, Lima, Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choco Museo, Lima, Peru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.