We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jose Antonio Lima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jose Antonio Lima to your Saves list
Hotel Jose Antonio Lima
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 28 de Julio 398 Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We sayed at this hotel 3 nights before a tour and 1 night after. The rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were a touch hard. Breakfast was good and as early as needed to be for tour compaiens. The shower temp was a bit hard to adjust but manageable. The location was great as it was a 100yds from Larco Ave. This street is safe anytime day or night and close to Larcomar mall and Kennedy Park. The front desk was friendly and accomadating.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on 28 juliet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    98
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
70
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was part of a 16-person tour group staying at Jose Antonio. The hotel was very well situated. Staff were friendly and helpful and their English was pretty good. They handled check-in and other business efficiently. Our room was clean and comfortable, All in all, I only have good things to say about the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, very spacious room, with safe a fridge. Central location and very safe to walk and explore, very helpful staff. Short walk to the shops and to the sea, where you can watch surfers. Also visited the Larco Herrera Museum which is in a beautiful setting, more like a private house. Also visit the magnificent Cathedral, and the Presidential Palace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We stayed at Hotel Jose Antonio two nights before our Overseas Adventure Travel trip to Machu Picchu, and one night after. Our room was nice and spacious, including a sitting area, mini-bar, luggage space, and nice bath. The staff was helpful with maps, suggestions, and directions. The Miraflores location is safe and easily walkable, or an in-expensive taxi ride, to a variety of attractions.

Room Tip: Specify what type of bed you want, and ask for a room with sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela G, Ejecutiva de Reservas Web at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Pasajero:
nos alegra saber que disfruto su estadía en nuestro hotel. Trabajamos día a día para mantener a nuestros huéspedes satisfechos.
la infraestructura de nuestro hotel esta mejorando a corto plazo y eso usted nos lo refleja.
esperamos tenerla nuevamente en Lima.
nos vemos pronto!


Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backnang, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Hotel location in Miraflores is good and safe. I cannot recommend the hotel Jose Antonio. Room was too small, high stairs in and out of the room. Staff not friendly, not helpful. Breakfast available not before 7:30. Before 7:30 there was not even Coffee available. In sum not acceptable.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela G, Ejecutiva de Reservas Web at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear Mr. Hans

we apologize for the inconvenients you had in our hotel. about the room, we assign you a double room and it hasn't have any stairs. Maybe you are confusing your location, if not you can comunicate with us and let us know the problems you had.
About the breakfast, it starts from 6:30 am so we are gonna check maybe something happens that day.

We hope you can comunicate with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is a very nice hotel. Our room was nice and clean and the breakfast was nice. Hotel staff were very helpful when we needed to leave our luggage and do our check-in. It's in a great location near the main shopping street which leads to the Larcomar shopping centre and the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela G, Ejecutiva de Reservas Web at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Hi Mary, we are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. we are gonna let it know to our hotel staff and hope you come back very soon.

Have a nice day


Gabriela Galindo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The thing I like about the Jose Antonio is the location. It's near Avenida Larco, the main street to Larcomar (shopping area overlooking the ocean) and Parque Kennedy (a nice park).

The hotel is adequate. Beds were fine, and room size was ok, as was the bathroom. There's a mini fridge (bar) in the room, though there is extra space in case you want to add a drink of your own. Rooms have recently been redone with a laminate flooring and flat screen tv.

The hotel is often used by tour groups (Lima Tours, Condor Travel, Gate 1, etc.), so it can get busy. There's a large pull-up area right out front which makes bus access and drop-off easy. The hotel has connections with a transportation service, which is nice but much more expensive than other respectable taxi options. One time my fare was more than double what a similar service would cost.

The breakfast buffet included with the room is nice. Bread, fruit, juices, eggs and meat are available every day. Not gourmet, but good quality overall. And, yes, those are hot dogs served as a meat option on some days. Apparently the lil' Smokies are alive and well at Jose Antonio.

Rooms that face Avenida 28 de Julio (the street out front) can be noisy. There seem to be A LOT of car alarms in the neighborhood that like to compete for who can be loudest and/or go off the most.

Overall, the rooms are comfortable and clean. It's a mid-range hotel, so don't expect plush accommodations. Front desk staff are often helpful and friendly.

Tips:
1) Get a room away from the elevator and the main street
2) If you go out of the hotel and turn right, there's a little store about 1/2 block down (on the left side of the street). They sell 7 liters of water for the same price (~6 Sols) the hotel charges for a much smaller bottle (~500 ml). They also have beverages (Inca Cola!) and a small fruit stand.
3) As you explore, turn right on Larco to go to Larcomar, and left on Larco to go to Kennedy Park. The hotel is about midpoint between these two attractions.
4) La Lucha in Larcomar is a great place for a sandwich. YUM
5) There are many banks in the area. Ban Bif never charged me for using their ATM, whereas other banks did. Money exchanges on the street (including those in blue vests) were reliable.
6) A short walk away is the Bike Tour of Lima location. If you have time, it's a wonderful way to see the area and learn about the history.
7) There are a lot of little, local restaurants in the area. I loved exploring those. They often have specials that are really, really reasonable.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the main street (28 de Julio) and try to stay away from the elevator area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela G, Ejecutiva de Reservas Web at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Pasajero,

Nos alegra mucho se haya tomado el tiempo para poder comentar sobre nuestro hotel, bueno tratándose de los taxis del hotel van a costar un poco mas caro que los taxis que circulan por la calle, pero en todo caso para su próxima visita a nuestro país lo podemos ayudar con ese tema, aunque lo mas recomendable es un taxi del hotel por la seguridad que le brindamos al pasajero.

Esperando regrese pronto a nuestro país, que tenga un bonita día.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio Lima

Address: Av. 28 de Julio 398 Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jose Antonio Lima 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Antonio Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.