We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel in centro hostorico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Espana
Calle Azangaro 105, Lima 00001, Peru (Cercado de Lima)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 212 Specialty lodging in Lima
Prague
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“What a great hotel in centro hostorico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was my best hostel in Peru and I liked the special atmosphere of this cozy hostel in centro historico for just few bucks with the excellent and reliable service including midnight pick up service from the airport. I felt like home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    57
    15
    18
See reviews for
11
58
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Fantastic atmosphere inside the hotel as other reviewers have said problem is the area at night really is ugly and I felt stuck there.. nor much food around either.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Cool hotel with interesting roof terrace. Excellent location in historic district. Great value. Not the Hilton, but recommend it for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

As said in the title, the hotel's facilities and services, theirselves, aren't particularly good.
Fair beedrom and bathroom. It was ok.
Now, if you are in a budget, a backpacker, you might find this hotel very good, since you might appreciate things such as the view you get from the balcony (and some rooms) where you have breakfast , the animals hanging around (parriots and turtle..), and for last but not least, price!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freiburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

we spent a night there and i liked it as usual! the only thing that wasn't so great was the noise, but well everywhere in peru is noisy!
the transfer from the airport to the hotel was in time and even waited for us long time!
the reception woman was friendly and the room with private bath excellent!
love the terrase ! will be back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This magnificent property in the middle of old Lima could be so good with a bit of love and insect repellant. Close to all the palaces and main museums it is terrific for the young - or just physically able - as getting up and down the stairs with your suitcases was quite a chore for us 50+ers. Laundry and tour operators very close. Taxi costs to and from this hostel were very reasonable and should be considered. A pecock and peahen occupy the open space on the third floor, as do a couple of macaws.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor - it was very difficult with suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

based on rrrip advisor reviews I decided to stay in central Lima around the plaza de armas. This hotel is in a great location and the Senora was able to organise great value tours, including a private car to Nasca and flight return same day) for just over 300 USD - as much (or less) as other companies wanted to charge for the bus!

Sure its noisy and my room was outside a shared bathroom (ironic as i had my own bathroom) but with the fan going I slept really well. I couldn't get much warmth out of the shower but its so hot there who cares (would have been an issue if i was in Cusco!)

Yep I'd stay here again :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Calle Azangaro 105, Lima 00001, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 212 Specialty lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Espana to your Saves list