We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but rushed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the Inquisition

Museum of the Inquisition
Jr. Junin 548, Lima, Peru
01/428-7980
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 227 things to do in Lima
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This grisly museum features the underground dungeons and torture chambers that were used to punish accused heretics.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Interesting but rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a free museum. You are taken on a guided tour. The tour we went on was in Spanish and we struggled to follow everything as the lady spoke very fast. She also rushed from room to room, so we didn't have time to read the information boards etc.
There are displays of different forms of torture that the spanish inquistion used which are quite realistic.
At the end you walk through the dungeons which are low and narrow.
Overall it was enjoyable (and can't complai because it was free) but we didn't learn as much as we would have liked to, given that it was quite rushed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    49
    21
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Museum is well organized has lots of good information (all in Spanish) and you can even do a short walk through the cells underneath the busing where prisoners were kept.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very informative little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This should be higher up the rankings. We had an English speaking guide who was free. He explained a brief history of the Spanish Inquisition and their methods. Apparently only about 30 people were killed in peru.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting part of peruvian history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We took a whole day to walk a around the "centro de lima", and we stumbled upon this mueum. No need to pay any entrance fee, we happen to get there just in time for the toured guide, which we didnt hear to well due to the echo of the rooms.
We saw different methods of torture they used and learned about in the discovery channel. The greatest part was going through the catacomb like passage ways!

I would go back again with my kids when they are old enough to appreciate it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Guided tour, Probably interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I want to say that this museum was free, but I might be remembering wrong, we took a guided tour in Spanish, feeling overconfident in our ability to understand. Apparently different words for torture were not included in our high school curriculum, so we were incredibly lost throughout the tour. Pretty sure that they have tours available in English, and that we just didn't feel like waiting until the next one. It was probably very interesting. I liked the displays, and the tour seemed thorough. Just don't take it in a foreign language unless you have a pretty good vocabulary.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Inquisition also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Inquisition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the Inquisition, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.