We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Castellana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Castellana to your Saves list
Hotel La Castellana
Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 202 Hotels in Lima
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed a total of 2 nights at this hotel. We got room #10 which had an oversized king bed, a clean shower, and a huge window to the inner garden... The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was good... no complaints.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    52
    54
    29
    7
See reviews for
12
47
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We spent a total of 5 nights here over the course of two and a half weeks during July as part of a package traveliing round other parts of Peru.
This hotel looks very pretty from the outside and is well located but is in dire need of a make over and an attitude shake up.
The rooms are dark and musty (although the beds are big!) and have very little in the way of extras. One measly bar of soap is included and we had to go out and buy shampoo on our first night. Some of the rooms have hairdryers. Some don't. Ours was broken and the hotel couldn't/wouldn't find a working one. Someone else in our party had a broken shower and had to fix it themselves.
There is no lift and no one to help you with your bags if you happen to be on the second or third floor. There is no internet connection. The reception staff always appear to be very busy with paperwork and are singularly unhelpful.
Breakfast is very disappointing. There is a very small breakfast room and one waiter who rushes round trying to remember if he's served you or not. Differerent 'levels' of guests appear to be served different things.
Overall there must be hotels which are better value for money in Miraflores.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Well, I just got back from a GAP trip whose joining and leaving hotel is this one. After pouring over the reviews prior to the trip, my wife and I had some hesitations about staying here but we couldn't change it as it was part of a tour.... As it turns out, on the first and last day I got two very different rooms. First room was fine, quiet, not damp, not beautiful but clean, no smells and not damp. It was on the third floor. A bit dark, but it was better than I expected. Room 305 I believe...

On returning to Lima for our last evening. We got Room #2. What a vast difference. Like travellers have been saying. It was damp, had a funny smell... like medication. Another traveller said it was to keep the moths away which makes sense if it was damp. Probably the worst thing was it was literally right next to the reception which made it extremely noisy at night. You would hear the front door buzzer buzzing all night, the door banging as people closed it, people checking in and chatting, the old dot matrix printer printing out carbon copy receipts etc....

So as I titled the review, it really is a hit and miss. It could be good, but it also could be quite bad. My suggestion ? Depending on when you get in to the hotel, try to ask for a room on one of the upper floors, away from the street side and as far away from the front reception area as possible. Good luck !

p.s. A better choice for just a about 10 USD more is the Hotel La Paz Apart, literally just the other street down from this one. It's great, though a bit more pricey...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This Hotel is reasonably priced, clean, friendly service, and located in the totally safe area.of Miraflores. Breakfast and WiFi service are poor.

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed there for one night each at the start and end of the 2 week trip to Peru. Rooms dark, basic, damp and smell. External appearance of building and location fine but it would benefit from a complete refurbishment; rooms are dated, tired and gloomy. Obviously used by tour companies as a transit hotel (as we did) and heard people coming and going at all hours of the day and night. Staff quite surly and not particluarly helpful. Overall, dissapointing stay and wouldn't recommend this hotel. We stayed another night at the radisson nearby and for about $20 dollars more on the rack rate got an exceptional room with very good customer service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Stayed (pre-booked by company) here overnight - for a few hours really - on route to Cusco. Some of our party had to change rooms because of a noisy party going on. Our room was very basic, smelling of damp. We were pretty much wiped out by the long flight etc, so slept the few hours we needed to. I wouldn't stay there by choice, given the room we had. Maybe other rooms are better as in other reviews, if so the hotel needs to bring the poorer rooms up to scratch. Courtyard looked pleasant, but didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

I stayed here for one night en route to Cuzco. The hotel is extremely basic and my room was really smelly (damp). I was in a room near to reception and could here everything outside and even from other rooms.
The staff were unhelpful and when they held our luggage for us, we discovered that it was in an unlocked cupboard accessible to other guests.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Castellana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.