We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Carmelo

Hostal El Carmelo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Carmelo
Save
You added Hostal El Carmelo to your Saves list
Bolognesi 749, San Isidro | Miraflores, Lima 018, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Though the rooms were nothing to write home about, what sets El Carmelo apart is the unimaginable degree of service you receive. The friendliness of the staff is, bar none, the best I have ever experienced in any country. Ask for Patricia! But any employee will be happy to guide you to something fun to do or something great to eat. Stocked with maps and local tips and a smile, we left El Carmelo every day being more and more impressed with the quality of service.

We checked out at noon and they gladly held our bags until 8pm, as well as letting us lounge in the lobby to take a break from the sun. They made phone calls to ask questions for us. Heck, one time another guest (from Lima) offered to walk us to a sports club to ask if we could use the pool. The whole experience was very indicative of Limeños.

Add on top of all this, the price was very affordable and it is located right next to El Parque del Amor in Miraflores.

Room Tip: Try a room that does not face the staircase. In order to help keep the hotel cool, inward facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urubamba, Peru
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

if you have to find an alternative for more expensive hotels in miraflores , you could try Hostal El Carmelo. only a short walk away from parque kennedy and just around the corner from the coast.
there are good restaurants nearby and supermarkets like Vivanda and Wong can make shopping real easy.

The rooms might be a bit simple but you get value for money ; room prices do not include breakfast , continental or american breakfast are available for 12 to 15 soles extra.

payment are cash or with creditcard , but there is a surcharge of 8 % for creditcard payments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed here on a number of occasions but have found that the $30 airport pickup is ridiculous. A much nicer hotel picked me up for 30soles. Despite having stayed at this place a dozen nights in the past, they gave me a lousy room that didn't even have a window. The owner's son is always on the computer that is there for the use of guests and he is very rude. Very bad for business, they should buy him a laptop and send him to his room. In the past they never charged me a percentage for using my credit card. I arrived at 2 am and could not get cash as I was leaving for another flight at 6 AM and they demanded I pay an extra 6% to use it. This goes against the contractual agreement with the credit card companies. Whatever small fees they incur is the cost of doing business. While I know some places try and add this charge they are not paying anywhere near 6% processing fees anyway. Nicer hotels don't do this.

Room Tip: Don't use your credit card and make sure they don't put you in one of the cell-like rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nothing fancy, but in good location (Miraflores) near the coast

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Really nice hotel, near the ocean and walking distance of Miraflores bar/restaurants! Very good for the money. Airport pick up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Please be advised that two hotel are mixed up in the previous reviews. El Carmelo mentioned in the first review is not in the same location than the second even though they have the same name.

El Carmelo in Miraflores, Lima has a great location. Walking distance to the plaza in Miraflores, El Parque Kennedy and the El Parque Del Amor but the hotel is not luxorious by any means.

It is the perfect base of operations if you only use your room to sleep in. It has confortable beds and it is clean. With the temperature in Lima being fairly temperate it does not have AC which to me is a disavantage because AC's muffles noise and refreshes the room. You have a choice of opening the window and there is no screen so noise and bugs can come in. However, bugs are not bad and the noise since it is in a side street is pretty tolerable.

The price is the best. It was $35.00 the night for a private "matrimonial bedroom. It included breakfast that consisted of fresh bread, fresh squeezed orange juice and wonderlful coffee.

Again, the price is great for what you get. But if you want luxury you better stay at the Las Americas.

The staff is very nice in Carmelo and they have a computer that they let you borrow if you want. They also arranged for my taxi driver and I was picked up at the airport without a hitch.

Again this is a bargain and very confortable but if you want luxury go somewhere else. Rain

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of AC, aged carpet and furniture
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

I stayed at the hotel El Carmelo when I first arrived in Peru 3 weeks ago and again 2 nights ago when I got back to Lima before heading back home.
* Great location only few steps from the sea front (good for joggers or for nice walks)
* 5 minutes walk from the centre of Miraflores with all bars and restaurants and shopping areas
* 10 minutes walk from commercial centre on the sea front
* clean hotel
* free use of internet for customers in the reception
* quiet and safe location
* and especially great welcome from all the staff!
Definitely will get back there on my next trip to Lima! Recommend for anybody that goes to Lima. I was travelling on my own and felt very safe there.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Carmelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Carmelo

Address: Bolognesi 749, San Isidro | Miraflores, Lima 018, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hostal El Carmelo Hotel Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Carmelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.