We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont bother if you dont have the time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pachacamac

Pachacamac
Autopista Antigua Panamericana Sur km 31, Lima 16, Peru (San Isidro)
+51 1 4300168
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 129 attractions in Lima
Type: Ancient Ruins, Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located only 31 kilometers from Lima, these ancient ruins are all that remain of an important religious center that was constructed more than 1,000 years before the Inca Empire.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dont bother if you dont have the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

its a bit far away from the city but it has an interesting history if you get a private guide. but the rest is more like alot and alot of stones

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    185
    59
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pachacamac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fascinating archaeological site which will only get better as more of the site is escavated. Mind boggling.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A fascinating pre-Inca site, easily accessible from Lima. We had an excellent guided tour in English. Not yet fully developed, it has lots of potential.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Amazing to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went here on a private tour. I loved it. Paid for an English speaking guide, and she was fantastic. It was so interesting to learn about this area and what it used to look like and how it was used by the people so long ago.
It is easy to see how much work could still be done in excavations, but with more visitors, the more chance they'll be able to make this even better in the future!
I would definitely recommend going.

I saw some posts comparing this to the sacred valley, I've been there too and done the hike... but people need to stop comparing every small archeological site to those amazing/famous ruins....obviously much more money has been put into restoring Machu Picchu, it is an internationally famous site.... If you expect every site to be like that, you will always be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Fog and dirt.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Yes it is the biggest and most important archeological site near Lima, but to me it was borring compared to the ruins (and views) you can see in Sacred Valley.
The entire site looks like a huge mold of dirty grey sand covered in a fog (from May to October fog hangs over Lima region). We got a local guide (it was cheap - if I remember well 20 Soles plus the entrance) but it didn´t get any more interesting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pachacamac also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Pachacamac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachacamac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pachacamac to your Saves list