We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel El Olivar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel El Olivar to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel El Olivar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pancho Fierro 194 | San Isidro, Lima, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
“An enjoyable hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Found the Sonesta Hotel El Olivar by chance when our plans changed at the last minute. What a find. The staff are very helpful. The restaurant is very nice and our stay included a good buffet breakfast. The hotel offers a spacious and fully equipped business centre that proved to be essential to my husband when our plans changed. There is a lovely rooftop pool that was enjoyed by all. There is also a nice lobby bar. The hotel is well located. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Marcie2014;

Thank you very much for your comments about Sonesta Hotel El Olivar; We are really glad that you spent a great time with us. As you mentioned, we have a great location and our staff is always trying to help in some way to our guests in order they enjoy their stay with us. Thank you very much for your preference, hopefully we willñ have you with us again.

Kind regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    117
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
69
7
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Spent four nights here on a business trip. Clean, comfortable and friendly with good access to all major city locations. Good restaurant with a decent selection of meals and snacks. Open air pool on sixth floor ideal for relaxing and provides a decent view of parts of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Paul B;

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar with Tripadvisor' visitors. We have a great location, just in fornt of the Olivar Park and nearby many interested placed as you mentioned. It was a pleasure for us to be part of your journey to Lima. We are looking forward your next visit, thank you very much for your preference.

Kind regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

On my first trip to Lima this hotel was booked based purely on location but after staying happily delivered on a number of other levels. Not only located near to my office but a short (depending on time of day) 20 minute taxi drive (easily arranged through the Hotel) landed you to either the coast or old centre. With a spare Saturday I also walked these routes along a safely paved tree lined cycleway in the middle of the road with no feeling of danger.
As a number of comments already made the Hotel was clean and well run with a helpful and attentive staff able to support English to a high standard and willing to arrange trips, taxi's, maps & advice in equal measure.
Located on the 4th floor facing out over the Olive Gardens with Parrots and humming birds occasional visitors the room was well laid out and furnished, and being European survived much better from noise with an open window rather than air-conditioning.
With good Wi-Fi connection the swimming pool area on the roof also provided a nice haven to watch the sun set and into the evening at the end of the day whilst still working.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Mandeville1322;

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your time and also for your comments about your stay at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar on Tripadvisor Website. I'm really glad that you spent a great time with us. I will share with all my staff your recognition, believe me they will feel really motivated with your words. I hope you can stay with us again and enjoy more our very well located Hotel, our surroundings and off course our Service.

Kind regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We only spent one night here on a short stop over en route to Cuzco.
The room and bathroom was neat and clean, comfortable bed and not too cramped.
Check-in staff were very friendly even though it was nearly midnight when we arrived.

A small but good variety at breakfast, delicious fresh fruit, really nice scrambled eggs and wonderful cinnamony frenchtoast, just they way it should be.

Unfortunately can't say much more, as we arrived close to midnight and left the following moring at 7 again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Karin H;

I would like to thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor, even you just stay for a few hours we are glad you were comfortable with us. We hope you can stay again with us and spend more days, having the opportunity to enjoy our city and our facilities.

Kind regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is clean and well-run (although we did have staff ring our door bell at 3:15 am to ask if we were checking out in a badly-timed communication error). Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. We were on the 6th floor and found it noisy during setup for the meeting rooms above. Once we moved to a lower floor the noise levels were much better. Good location with some green areas around the hotel (some people in our group spotted an owl there early one morning). Food is very good.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor under the meeting rooms. If there is an event you may hear the noise as furnitur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Carol P;

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sonesta El Olivar Hotel with tripadvisor visitor's. I would like also to thank you because of your comments regarding to how noisy you found our sixth flour because of the setting up of our Events. I will inform about this to our team captains in order to work with our staff that should work with more prudence trying not to disturb our guests. I hope you can come back to Peru, stay with us again and try more options of our peruvian food.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Sonesta De Olivar is an excellent hotel at a reasonable price. Quiet and extremely clean with helpful staff makes it a good choice. It has everything which a business traveler would require generally - clean and quiet rooms, high speed net, nice location (opposite to Olive gardens), 10 minute drive to downtown and coast - away from busy traffic of business district yet accessible.

Room Tip: I had a room at the top floor with direct access to roof top terrace and pool. It was easy to step o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Director General at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear KhalidKabeer;

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar with all tripadvisor' visitors. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can stay again with us and keep enjoying our service.

Kind regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of a pretty and safe area of Lima. The hotel overlooks a park situated in an olive tree grove. The park and the area are safe for walking. There is a nearby ruin within walking distances and some very good restaurants. Restaurant at hotel is good and has a very good buffet breakfast that was included in my room rate. Small but nice rooftop pool area was very relaxing after a day of site seeing in downtown Lima, which is about a 25 minute taxi cab ride away. The hotel has cabs they can get you - they are always waiting, but you will pay more. Walk around the corner to main street and hail your own cab to get a lower fare. I would highly recommend this hotel as a relaxing and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Olivar, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Gaucho;

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Sonesta El Olivar Hotel with Tripadvisor visitors. As you have mentioned, we are surrounded by El Olivar Park, very relaxing and safe place to walk around. We are glad also that you were satisfied by our facilities and service, I will share your comments with all our staff.
I hope you can stay again with us and feel Sonesta El Olivar Hotel like your home in your next trips to Lima.

Best regards;

Gerardo Bordoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel El Olivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel El Olivar

Address: Pancho Fierro 194 | San Isidro, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#25 Business Hotel in Lima
#28 Family Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel El Olivar 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most important business and residential district of Lima, with the view of the majestic Olivar Grove Park in San Isidro, is the Sonesta Hotel El Olivar Lima. The property is close to financial institutions and large corporations as well as shopping centers, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs. A warm, contemporary hotel, designed to meet the most demanding traveler, whether for business or pleasure. Just 25 minutes from Jorge Chavez International Airport. Enjoy the culture, tranquility, culinary excellence, high standards of service, tradition and hospitality that only our 5-star hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonesta Hotel El Olivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Lima
El Olivar Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Lima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.