We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Lima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Lima to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malecon De La Reserva 615 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 202 Hotels in Lima
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a very long and tiring flight from Australia, my wife and I stayed at this hotel. As you would expect from a Marriot the property is modern, very well maintained and run by very helpful and friendly staff. I expected to struggle a little as I cannot speak any Spanish but was pleasantly surprised. The locality is very relaxing with an expansive view of the Pacific across the road from the hotel. Although the sky was overcast for the duration of our stay, we had a pleasant view of the setting sun from our room.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you very mu
ch for your fabulous comments! We are very pleased with your appreciation of our product and staff service. You are right indeed when you point out our wonderful location, a unique feature our guests enjoy very much. During clear days the wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean is very enjoyable!
We hope we can welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future. We genuinely thank you for your preference!!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    276
    46
    16
    8
See reviews for
209
461
75
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed for business, nice hotel, the rooms are confortable with ocean view.

the food is great, I took sushi and other fishes.

the gim is ok, a bit full of people but with enought machines and place to do your workout.

the neighborhood is the best of Lima, you can walked on the street, there is a casino near the hotel, also some places for shopping

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your great comments! Our main goal is to exceed our customers’ expectations. It is true that our superb location is a unique feature our hotel has for the enjoyment of all our guests, basically for the close by entertainment you have kindly pointed out.
It is also very rewarding to see comments like yours in regards to our food and beverage offering. Thank you!
We hope you can come back soon and give us again the privilege of hosting your visit during your stay in Lima.

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

First time in Lima and always try to stay at a Marriott hotel and I think this is one of the best JW properties. The views from the room overlooking the Pacific Ocean were absolutely perfect. Great service. Food was delicious. Great drinks. Everything...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Fernando,

Thank you very much for your comments! You are right indeed when you mention our great location. Undoubtedly that is a unique feature our guests really enjoy!!. We are very proud to share with you that our hotel has been recently recognized for having the best F&B outlets in our company. It is our goal to continue exceeding our customers’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully in the not too distant future.
Again, thank you!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Best hotel, executive lounge is really cool, food at the sushi bar downstairs is amazing (try the tiraditos tres texturas), spa and gym and excellent. The hotel is located right in front of a shopping center with tons of restaurants, movie theather, stores...you can never get bored.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Liara:

We appreciate your comments and your time to post them publicly. As you mentioned our hotel has an excellent location and it is really a unique feature that all our guests enjoy. Thank you for your comments about our food. We recently got a worldwide recognition among all Marriott properties, for best F&B outlets!. We are always delighted to welcome you here!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres,Fl
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Sometimes when you read reviews here on TA, they can scare or alarm you...other times ( like this) I go with a few reservations about the hotel, but figure it should be decent, especially when it's ranked # 3 in Lima, Peru. First, let me say that my wife & I and her sister & hubby stayed at the JW Marriott in Lima for 3 nights using our Marriott points. We called ahead and requested rooms on the same floor, view of the Pacific, high up, with King beds. We received corner suites ( try & get rm #'s 1014 or 1003, or rooms that end with 14 or 03) with King beds on the 10th floor with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean..these rooms were very spacious, probably 500 square feet, large 50 in flat screen TV with numerous channels including CNN, ESPN,TNT,DSC, and a few HBO CHANNELS. There were at least a dozen American shows in English with Spanish sub titles, so TV was pretty good..A/C was a bit loud, but you can regulate the strength of the fan from Low to Hi ( I kept it Medium) and temps are either C or F in degrees. Bed was very firm, but comfy..only weakness here was the shower, which still had the old fashion shower heads instead of the more modern hand- held showers you find in most hotels around the world ( except in America for some strange reason!)..shower gets a "D" grade and it also was not terribly strong in water pressure. There's also an iron & iron board, hair dryer, safe, small fridge packed with goodies, clock, desk, and PC area on the desk. Service was impeccable in every way. Front desk was outstanding.. There's a nice bar & lounge area that serves terrific Pisco Sours ( Pisco is a Peruvian liqueur, a must to try..also it is pronounced "peesco"..) and good appetizers. Bartenders spoke English well, and were very attentive. Also, there's a pool on the 6th floor with again, amazing views of the ocean and all of Miraflores..and the pool is heated with a bar area...sorry, no hot tub..

The JW Marriott is located in Miraflores, a most desireable section of Lima, a huge, sprawling city of 7 million people, 10 million with suburbs.. a word of caution- if you plan to go to Lima or are already set to go, DO NOT rent a car!! Driving here is total madness and chaos..STOP signs are merely suggestions, and it's really every man for themselves and kill or be killed mentality ...drivers are both aggressive and have no respect for driving laws...much worse than Italy, France or the UK if you've driven there...

Back to the hotel location, the Marriott is situated up above the hills and facing amazing views of the Pacific. But what really is nice, is there is a shopping/ dining area called "Larcomar" where you will find maybe 30-40 stores, restaurants & bars. Tony Roma's is there, and we ate at several venues including Cafe Cafe & Mango's, both with breathtaking views of the Pacific ( I will review both venues separately)..there are 2 levels here with escalators at each end for those who trouble walking stairs ( stairs are pretty steep, warning!)..this place is really hopping every night, and there's also a Starbuck's for coffee people ( also a Starbuck's in the Marriott)...the whole 2-3 mile coastline of Miraflores is undergoing tremendous development, and by 2018-19, they expect lots of restaurants, parks, bars, casinos ( it's legal in Peru)..
it will be spectacular when finished- almost kinda like a high end boardwalk & beach like Atlantic City..

A few tips on rooms- ask for a corner suite, especially if you are Marriott rewards member, ask for rooms high up with view of the ocean.. call ahead ( as I did) and request all the day before you leave ( I always do that anyway..) ,especially if you're coming in late, as we were ( 1-2 AM). I have my wife's family in Lima, and next time we may stay at her sister's new condo on the beach, but if we need a hotel, we will not hesitate to stay at the JW Marriott Hotel Lima in Miraflores..at only 30,000 points ( cat . 6), I thought this was a steal!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are great with sweeping views of the Pacific..also ask for higher floors ( like 10 &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very thankful for your taking the time to write such a delightful and detailed note in which you covered lots of what the hotel has to offer!! Wonderful! Our goal is to make each and every guest enjoy a great time in our property. It is very rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our service impeccable. You are absolutely true when you mention our location as a prime feature and our guests enjoy very much the amazing views from our guestrooms as well as the closeness to entertaining places at walking distance, as you have pointed out so nicely, for many different reasons as the ones you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Again, thank you very much!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This has got to be one of the best hotels in Lima whether for business or pleasure. We had a room on the 20th floor overlooking the ocean. The rooms are quiet, well appointed with fluffy towels and nice bathrobes. There is a good bar overlooking the ocean as well as a decent restaurant. We only ate breakfast there and it was very good. The fitness room faces the ocean for those inclined to do a bit of running btw. On the ground floor is a casino which is quite separate from the hotel and we did not have time to try it out. Across the road is a collection of restaurants and an attractive mall with a number of names that US visitors would recognize as well as some smart looking local ones. All in all this is a great base to operate from and I would recommend it to anybody staying in Lima.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Stephen

Thank you very much for your comments. You are definitely right when you mention that our location is a fantastic feature that truly makes it for our customers! You mentioned some of the activities/places Lima has to offer walking distance from the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Again, thank you very much,

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I were in Peru and had to spend a couple of extra nights because our flight back to the USA was cancelled due to weather. We chose the Marriott in Miraflores and quickly took a taxi to the hotel late at night. Upon arrival, we had a speedy check-in. From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff met our every need, were friendly and went out of their way to provide excellent service. Our room was very comfortable, had great beds, a large bathroom with various amenities, including robes and slippers. Because we are Marriott rewards members, we were upgraded and had access to the Executive lounge and were given an ocean view room. The Executive lounge was very large, had desktop computers/printers, cold drinks, food and snacks. The food was good and varied every day and for every meal. We used the lounge frequently during our stay. The fitness center was a top notch facility. Numerous cardio machines and both free weights and weight machines. This was one of the best hotel gyms I have ever seen. Although a little pricey, you get what you pay for here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Lima

Address: Malecon De La Reserva 615 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lima
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#1 Spa Hotel in Lima
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#2 Family Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Lima 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Lima
Marriott Hotel Lima
Marriott Lima
Lima Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Lima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.