We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and typical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon Chami

Rincon Chami
Calle Esperanza 154, Miraflores, Lima, Peru
444-4511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,188 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Piacenza, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice and typical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Located on a side road of avenida Larco near Parque Kennedy, this is really a simple place, but food is good and it's cheap. With perhaps a dozen of tables made of iron and almost no decorations in the interior, it looks much more authentic than many other places in this area. This restaurant is perfect for a meal with no frills, but really typical. I was there for a quick lunch, I ate tasty Tamales and a delicious potato with sauce called Papa a la Huancaina. Both prepared in a good Peruvian style. The menu offered a good selection of the typical dishes of the country, including something special prepared only in some days. The staff was nice and attentive, they made my experience to be positive for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebbville, NS, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good quality, very reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found about this place in Lonely Planet. Looking for a reasonably priced Peruvian meal. This is a great spot. Thanks to the lady at the next table, we were able to decide what the Spanish dishes were. Service was very prompt and courteous, meals were very tasty and filling with good size portions. Very unassuming appearance, but the food makes it worthwhile. Very good value while letting us enjoy Peruvian meals distinctly different than what we eat at home. The Pisco Sours were good as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and even more amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ate at 2 different locations 3 times in our short stay in Peru. Our friend's dad managed the place so she wanted to make sure we tried some local foods. Out of our entire Peru trip we never had food that matched how delicious the food here was! I would recommend trying as much as you can, especially a Pisco Sour!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Proper Peruvian in modest restaurant - beware cau cau is tripe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In Lonely Planet. We loved it. Nice service. Very varied typical Peruvian food. Food can be heavy. Generous portions. We had ocopa (potatoes) on our first visit. Husband had lamb stew twice. I tried beef stir fry (saltado) and next visit a local pork and potato dish. Son had escalop milanese which was good . Serve alcohol. For ther adventures there is cau cau which is a tripe dish.
Esperanze is off a main square and if you go to the other end of it there are various antique shops which look half carboot and half antique.

Good experience overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Consistently good Peruvian food at good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I' ve been going to this restaurant for over thirty years and it has never let me down. The food is very typical Peruvian, the portions are generous and very tasty. The service is friendly and efficient. They have the best lemon pie!!! I will keep going back and highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Chami also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Rincon Chami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon Chami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.