We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel near the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SM Hotel & Business

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SM Hotel & Business to your Saves list
SM Hotel & Business
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Los Patriotas 623, San Miguel, Lima, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Santa Monica, California, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel near the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The architecture of this hotel is stunning - midcentury modern, and so comfortable. We only had 1 night and were not able to use the massive jacuzzi tub in our room (sigh) but the room and hotel were lovely. Breakfast was yummy as well. BEWARE: the building right next door is under construction, so if you like to sleep in, or spend a lot of daytime hours in your room, you'd better wait until the construction is finished next door.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the fab jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    88
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
61
36
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I chose this hotel based on its proximity to the airport and was glad I did. The staff was available and helpful even with my 1AM check-in. The room was small, but the linens and bedding very crisp and comfortable. Bathroom was tiny, but had all the ammenities you need. Breakfast was decent and made to order. The friendly staff arranged a private car to the airport. It was like having a friend give you a ride. This hotel is perfect for a layover, but I'm not so sure about the surrounding area. Wouldn't want to stay there longer. That's not to say it's unsafe- it seemed residential. There wasn't much around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In choosing this hotel I had been looking for something relatively close to the airport at a reasonable price. Bearing this in mind I got what I asked for and cannot complain. Clean and a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the airport. Can't speak to the breakfast as on both occasions we left before the official serving time and so were given breakfast bags with fruit juice and cookies.

My only 2 gripes:
1) Construction happening next door so I would advise occupying yourself elsewhere during the day
2) Though a wake up call was requested, we were not called

Note: While close to the airport, this hotel is NOT close to much else. If you are looking to stroll around for a decent restaurant, admire the neighborhood, or even take a trip to the market I would not recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here overnight in transit to Cusco because it was close to the airport and the price was right - $50 as compared to the Airport Ramada for $250.

This hotel is clean, quie and convenient. The beds are comfortable, the towels of great fluffy absorbing Peruvian cotton and the shower has plenty of hot water. For the price, you really cannot go wrong.

Downside is that you will have to take a cab to a restaurant vs walking. However, if you want to walk and sight see, head to Miraflores and pay the price in terms of high rates and expensive taxi fare to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We passed by Lima on the way to Cusco and since we just needed a place to stay for one night (both ways) we decided to go with SM Hotel. It was a good decision because of the price of this hotel and the proximity to the airport. On our way back from Cusco though things went wrong: 1) we were given a room that was right next to the construction going on next door (i think they are planning to expand the hotel) but as soon as we complained they gave us another room, where we could still hear the construction but not as much. 2) We asked for a wake up call the next day but the phone never rang. Good thing I had also set my phone!

This hotel is good for the price and location to the airport but don't expect anymore than that.

Room Tip: There is massive construction going on in the hotel, it looks like they are expanding (We were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

great location and service. I stayed two nights here, one on my way to cuzco and one on my way back to lima airport. On the second night coming from cuzco they forgot to pick us up at the airport. I was disappointed since we had already booked a pick up with them. Lady working at the front desk denied it and was in shocked when she checked and we were on the pick up notes for that day. No discount, just an apology. Also, in the morning I turned the pillow around and it had blood. Don't get me wrong service and location are great, these were two bad things that happen to us.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for one full night and then a half night as we were departing Lima on a 5 am flight. Each night we had two rooms. We found the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel was close to the airport and was reasonably priced. When we asked where to eat the staff directed us to the Plaza San Miguel mall. Although not within walking distance it was very close to the hotel. It was a large modern mall with many places to eat such as Dunkin Donuts, Chiles, KFC, and McDonald's. They had some other cafes to eat in as well.It felt reasonably safe. There were lots of stores many of which are the same as in the US. The hotel provided an adequate breakfast and also provided a bag breakfast to take with us since we left early to catch our flight. Our rooms were fine with plenty of hot water for the shower. One of our rooms was not as nice as the other due to some minor maintenance issues, but was fine. There was some construction going on right next door to the hotel but if you are reading this I imagine they are probably done and the construction workers only worked from 7:30-5:30. There is an extra charge for bottled water, I would think you should get at least one bottle with the room. We felt this hotel was fine for our needs and would recommend it, especially considering it was close to the airport which gave us a little more sleep time before our early 5 am flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SM Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SM Hotel & Business

Address: Av. Los Patriotas 623, San Miguel, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SM Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your SM Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SM Hotel & Business, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.