We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this hotel - clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SM Hotel & Business

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SM Hotel & Business to your Saves list
SM Hotel & Business
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Los Patriotas 623, San Miguel, Lima, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this hotel - clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed one night at the SM hotel & business in transit through Lima to Cusco. I was very pleasantly surprised with how nice the hotel was. It was inexpensive, very clean and modern inside.

There's nothing compelling about the location but it fills the niche of a transit hotel quite nicely. I'd definitely stay there again if I was traveling through Lima.

The hotel offers an airport transfer for $15 (pay the driver not the front desk) which is equivalent to what you'd pay Taxi Green.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    86
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
61
35
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We arrived very late and had arranged car through hotel. Driver was waiting at hotel. It takes about 20-30 minutes from airport and is down a small street...driver pulled into a property with a large wooden gate which was opened after he called. Good security. Small hotel. Our room was very small with a portable air-conditioner near bed. Bathroom and furnishings modern. Bed was comfortable for the few hours we had there. Driver was waiting to take us back to airport early the next morning as requested. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We choose this hotel because it was close to the airport. We got in late and had to catch an early flight out the next morning. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean. We did not arrange for a taxi with the hotel, which in hind sight we should have. I think we could have gotten a better rate through the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This small hotel it´s about 10 - 15 minutes from Lima airport and it´s perfect if you are just in transit or if you need to do something at Callao area. It is not the most obvious option as there are closer and cheaper hotels there but it´s an ok hotel

The hotel it´s new, the roms have a good taste and good bed and seem to be in a safe area but it is a bit pricy for what it is (USD 200 per night) and as fara as my experience I was struggling since 5:00 AM with the sound of what it sounded like the running machine and was bit annoying

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were coming in for one night to catch an early morning flight to Cusco and this hotel worked perfect. Its a short distance to the airport and they can schedule airport pickup and dropoff for you at a fairly reasonable price. The hotel was very clean and modern and staff was very friendly. We woke up well before the kitchen was open for breakfast, but they still made us coffee before our flight. There's not a lot to do or see in the area, so don't plan on staying here to hang out, but great for a short stay. For nearby food from a late flight, ask about Norky's - it's a local chain, but delicious and open late.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Like many other tourists, my friend and I arrived in Lima close to midnight and we had an early flight out to Cusco next morning, so we needed a place to sleep for a few hours. The hotel is located half way between Lima airport and the city center (Miraflores). It takes 20 to 30 minutes from the airport by taxi, and costs 25 to 30 Peruvian soles each way (as of April 2012, Green Taxi had flat rate of 25 soles), so it is reasonably convenient and a lot cheaper than staying at the airport hotel.

We booked a standard double room online. When we arrived, we found that the room was double booked. After some negotiation with the receptionist, we were put in two single rooms for the same total price.

Both of the rooms were tiny but clean. One of the rooms was equipped with a hair dryer, phone, TV and even had a mini fridge/mini bar. The other room (which is where I stayed) did not have a hair dryer, mini bar and phone.

The hotel had free wi-fi, and breakfast was included. Wi-fi seemed to work only in certain areas of the hotel (I didn't get signal in my room). We checked out before breakfast hours, and hotel gave us a to-go bag with muffins, corn flakes and a pack of juice.

One thing I can't remember is whether the room had an AC. In my room, a small window in the shower booth was open for ventilation, and it was humid in the room. I should also mention that the noise from the landing and departing airplanes were pretty loud through the night. Not sure if it made the difference if the small window was shut.

If you are just traveling through Lima, this hotel is good for a quick sleep + shower, but it is not recommended for tourists visiting Lima.

Room Tip: The room without mini-bar, phone and wi-fi signal is on the first floor next to the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hotel staff extremely helpful, handy for airport, not for Miraflores.
Advertised as having air conditioning but just a portable unit in the room with humidifier , ventilator controls.
Room size is extremely small (at least the room we were in) you couldn't swing the proverbial cat.
I would recommend to a friend, but point out the drawbacks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SM Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SM Hotel & Business

Address: Av. Los Patriotas 623, San Miguel, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 207 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SM Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your SM Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SM Hotel & Business, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.