We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pampa de Amancaes

Pampa de Amancaes
Av. Armendariz 546 Miraflores, Lima 01, Peru
4455099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 926 restaurants in Lima
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The New Temple of Peruvian Cuisine, rescuing our culinary traditions.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant. My wife and I had dinner here twice and loved both meals. The ceviche was very good, and our entees were nicely prepared and presented. They had a good wine list, and on our first night we both had a pisco sour. Very very good. The restaurant is located in a walkable area of Miraflores, and unlike many other restaurants it is open on Sundays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    66
    26
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Really nothing to remember”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I like Peruvian cuisine, but this one was not the best. The ceviche was good, but the fish was a bit chewy, and the stuffed potatoes were a bit greasy.
I might be picky ,but I 've had for the last ten days, such simple, tasty, organic, fresh dishes, that I qualify this place as overrated!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went there while visiting for a conference. This place came recommended by locals and I was not disappointed. The food was plainly delicious starting with a trio of seafood appetizers including ceviche. The main course was a fish soup with intense flavor, definitely not for everyone but absolutely delicious. When I visited, there was no one there who spoke English and I don't speak a word of Spanish but the very helpful staff still made this an extremely pleasurable experience even though I had little idea about what I was ordering.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut USA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Typical peruvian food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went out late and wanted to find a typical peruvian food restaurant in Miraflores. Locals recommended this restaurant. Food was well prepared, bursting with taste and nicely presented. Decoration of restaurant was typical Peruvian colonial and the place had a charming atmosphere. Service was friendly and very accomodating. Waiters speak some french and also english. Limited parking available in front. We were lucky and parked right next to entrance. We all had "corvina" fish and especially the one with octopus slices was delicious.
Wine selection was ample. Price reasonable, considering that most tourist venues in Lima are on the expensive side.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“suprisingly delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

the best meal (meals, we went back again!) i had in Lima! My husband wanted to go to Rafael, but they were closed and our concierge referred us to Pampa de Amancaes as having similar food, but not as expensive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pampa de Amancaes also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Pampa de Amancaes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pampa de Amancaes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.