We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Great view of ocean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estelar Miraflores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estelar Miraflores to your Saves list
Hotel Estelar Miraflores
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Benavides 415, Lima, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 202 Hotels in Lima
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location. Great view of ocean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel Estelar.. The rooms were clean and large. Only a few blocks to the mall at the ocean. Great pool and fitness area. Free pisco sours at check in. Atlantic city casino directly across the street for the gamblers. Only thing the was seriously lacking was the breakfast buffet. Unfriendly staff who seem to busy to be bothered. The food was so so. Watery eggs, artificial red bacon and over cooked sausage links. This is def the area where the hotel needs help. Great stay and most staff speak english.

Room Tip: Get outer rooms. Center rooms here the biz of the elevators all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    136
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
45
108
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I wish I had kinder things to say about Hotel Estelar, but overall we were very disappointed with our stay there. To be upfront, part of this came from a certain expectation - we booked on Expedia, which ranked it a 4 star hotel and the hotel bills itself as a 5 star "superior" hotel. We thought it would be a fairly safe bet, especially since it was comparable in price to the Novotel (a solid 4 star hotel we stayed at earlier; we also stayed at the incredible Lima Westin, which is a solid 5 star but was much more expensive...we were not expecting comparable accommodations though technically they are ranked the same way)

First, the pros. The location is very convenient in the heart of the Miraflores district and the taxi services provided were some of the friendliest (though the taxi drivers themselves were the ones who warned us that if we paid them through the hotel, we would have a 35% upcharge that the hotel doesn't mention!) The hotel lobby is fairly nice, and the lobby and area area very safe. The actual bed was quite comfortable too.

However, one of the only two elevators was broken down leading to long wait times in the lobby, only to arrive in a damp, mildew-filled room. Our comforter had stains and the bathroom was far from excellently cleaned (mold in the tiles, etc). The lights in the bathroom flickered constantly. The water pressure in the shower was harsh and almost painful, as well. On top of all that, we found the concierge service to be very indifferent and lacking the friendliness we received at the other hotels we stayed at. Every question or request seemed to be treated as an inconvenience. Additionally, they do not serve coffee in the lobby restaurant throughout the day.

Some of these complaints may seem small, but if you bill yourself as a 5 star hotel, you should offer 5 star accommodations and service. For me, the Hotel Estelar strikes me as a place that was once a beautiful, high-end hotel but is now a 3 or 2.5-star hotel, if that. Which is fine, but you will have unhappy customers if they are expecting to get the full value out of their stay at an advertised 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very friendly, professional, helpful staff. Clean, quiet room. The restaurant in the 21st floor was an incredible view, great food,(everything fresh, clean, beautifully presented, and very tasty) and a fantastic wait staff. The location is very convenient to everything; within walking distance of shops,. Supermarket, money exchange, etc. I will return when next in Lima.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

“Loved the staff and the location. Everyone was very helpful and considerate. Consierge and Doormans are outstanding. The barattendants very friendly and courteous. The view and ambiance at the restaurant bar n the top is terrific.”
Oscar. Miami FL.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel is nice but old. Gym is awful, machines are broken. Location is really great. Wifi and breakfast is superb but rooms smells bad. I wouldn't mind staying there again but would like to try other hotels. I recommend it but Im not crazy about it.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice hotel, but the room as very damp smelling. Air cond didn't make a difference. Left my phone charger by accident- called that night they said they would look.. called back, didn't look, called next day they said send an email, no answer. Not very responsive at all. won't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We recently spent a few nights in Lima and stayed at this nicely appointed local hotel. It is in a great location in the heart of the Miraflores district and is easy walking distance to the cliffs overlooking the ocean. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was a bit on the pricey side for not being a 'branded' hotel, but definitely we would recommend it for people going to Lima.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estelar Miraflores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Miraflores

Address: Avenida Benavides 415, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 202 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estelar Miraflores 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESTELAR MIRAFLORES HOTEL welcomes you to the famous Larco avenue located in the most exclusive area of the city, close by Larcomar shopping center with an spectacular sea view, unique shops, the best restaurants and entertainment. Just 20 minutes from the historical center of Lima, ESTELAR Miraflores Hotel is strategically located for the tourist traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estelar Miraflores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estelar Miraflores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.