We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accomodations in a good part of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Hotel to your Saves list
Carmel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atahualpa Street 152 | Miraflores Lima 18, Lima, Peru (Miraflores)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 202 Hotels in Lima
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent accomodations in a good part of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hotel Carmel was the start/end point for our "comfort" class, 2 week tour with GAP Adventures. We booked a few extra days so we ended up staying at the Carmel for 4 nights total.

Pros: Very good location in Miraflores - close to shopping and food. (McD's is just around the corner if you're starting to get sick of the chicken and rice dishes.) Breakfast is decent - toast, yogurt, ham, cheese, fruit - better than some of the other hotels we stayed at. As far as noise goes - we were facing the street both times and ended up loathing Peruvian drivers and their fondness for honking... However I'm sure it could've been much worse had we stayed on the major streets. Staff is friendly and helpful (for the most part). Clean bathrooms. Effective A/C unit in each room. Free internet access.

Cons: Carpet is disgusting! Bed sheets are very thin and smelly. I think all rooms have been "smoking" at some point. If you can get over the smell and slightly cramped quarters of the regular rooms, then this is not a bad place at all.

My advice to you: Request any room that ends in "-01" - i.e. 401, 501 - that's the corner room facing the elevator - giving you a little more room to stretch out. Bathroom is 2x the size of a normal room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
24
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

What a great place. Hotel front desk was phenomenal. They know all the local bus routes and told me how to get to several places by combi! I had a wildly awesome time riding around. Location is the BEST. Miraflores is very safe, and you're a block from Mickey D's, Citibank, Dunkin Donuts, and any other comfort of home you can think of. Breakfast (eggs) was decent, coffee OK. Near several big supermarkets, for water and shopping and even dinner at a Whole Foods wannabe! Every bus stops at the Ovalo and just walking around Miraflores is a vacation. Easy to get downtown, by cab or combi. Room was very nice: new bathroom, comfy bed, very entertaining cable TV, safe in room, fridge. This place was home.

Stayed November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed 4 nights and liked very much the service, quietness because is located in a low traffic street, but yet walking distance to main attractions. Hotel personnel very polite and always willing to help. Another feature very important to us is internet access, which was available at all time, no downtime,a router for each room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here and felt the staff were pleasant, the facilities were good and the location was fine.

There is a great restaurant across the street as well as a fast food chicken place. There is a doorman and receptionist on at all times. The hotel offer a pick up service from the airport, which was very handy given a late arrival time from Newark.

All in all I felt this Hotel was great, however Lima is enormous, so don't expect to be minutes from the airport or city centre - you need to taxi it most places.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Excelent Location, great breakfast!!

Lovely place perfect for rest, comfortable rooms and a great service. Our stay was very nice.

In the morning the breakfast was delicious. After the breakfast we didn't know what to do and the receptionist recommend us where to eat great Ceviche in miraflores

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at the Carmel Hotel on the first and last night of a 15-day tour of Peru. It was the best hotel of the lot that we stayed in but, bearing in mind that this is Peru and not Europe or America, that isn't saying much! However, it was clean and friendly with adequate hot water and an adequate buffet breakfast. The location is fine but the early morning traffic ensures that you will never get to 'sleep in'! The street outside has three lanes of traffic and, as it's about 50 yards from an intersection, you are subjected to continuous beeping of horns, which seems to be the national pass-time!
In all fairness, Hotel Carmel wasn't too bad but we found Lima itself very uninteresting. It appears that the sun only shines in Lima for the months of January, February and March. For the other nine months, the Humbolt current brings a sea-fog /mist that is similar to the 'marine layer' in San Francisco. This creates a dull 'muggy' atmosphere, which envelopes the city and, indeed, all down the coast of Peru. We travelled south for days, along the costal highway, rarely seeing the sun.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Carmel as a pre tour hotel. First 3 nights I was on the 5th floor, corner room. Good lighting, queen bed, lots of closet and storage space and half sized fridge. Rooms are air conditioned and the air conditioning worked well. Everything was a bit dated, but clean. Last night I had to move as my tour partner was arriving. This room was on the second floor and needed a facelift. Ceiling over tub was cracked and falling away, AC didn't work as well. Room needed vacuuming. If this had been my first impression, I would not have been impressed. Upper floors are definitely the way to go. I rated the hotel on my first room giving them the benefit of a doubt that other floors will improve.

Overall, the staff was great, though some wanted to charge you for everything. The main rooms were clean, area was safe and night quiet (but I sleep with earplugs). Close to anything you can want or need.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Address: Atahualpa Street 152 | Miraflores Lima 18, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 202 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.